Classic Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have been making this exact same recipe for nearly 50 years. I add just a little extra (Mexican) vanilla, and a pinch of salt. Sometimes I add a cup of chocolate chips, but my Alabama-born husband likes it better without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Searcy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
My mom showed me this recipe years ago. It is the only one I have ever used, though I often add more pecans. Covering the crust edge when baking is a must so it doesn't get too browned. The filling can be sticky when baking. I used to cover the crust edge with tinfoil, until I found a flexible silicone crust ring. One year, after starting to make the pie, I discovered I was out of vanilla so I used almond extract instead. That was the best pie ever! Now, I always skip the vanilla and use almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Easy and always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious, no-fail, and easy to make! I have been making this recipe for years and it never lets me down. I do put a ring of tin-foil around the crust edge for the entire baking time (for me its an hour) so the crust doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Right from the Karo syrup jar! I will try using Splenda this year to cut down on the sugar and buy lite Karo syrup (dark) if I can find it. This pie is a 5 star as it is. Only reason I'm trying to cut down on the sugar is because I'm having sugar problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Gizowski
Living In: Freeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is even better with dark corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Here's a hint to keep the edges of the pie crust from over-browning. Spray the underside of a crust protector ring with non-stick spray and place it on the unbaked pie before putting the pie in the oven. Do not remove the ring until the pie is finished baking. The crust will still brown nicely while covered. I do this for all of my quiches and two crust pies. I make my own rings out of heavy duty foil and they work like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this pie! I have been making this ever since I began hosting Thanksgiving, which is about 9 years ago. This really could not be simplier to mix up, and the flavor is wonderful (yes, it's supposed to be sweet)! Pecan pie is also VERY rich, so this goes a long way...This is the only pecan pie recipe that I have ever tried, and it's the only one that I will ever use~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
My whole family loved this pie. Turned out a little darker than I'd have liked (I was unsure when to quit baking it) but I will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I decreased the amount of sugar to 2/3 cup and added 1/2 tsp. salt. I used about 1-1/3 cup chopped pecans for the filling and a few pecan halves for garnish, which I placed on the pie halfway through baking so that they wouldn't burn. The pie came out great and set up nicely, but I think it might have tasted even better if I had used dark corn syrup instead of light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States