Classic Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Pecan pie is my favorite, when I often make this I swap the Karo out for buttered flavored pancake syrup or regular maple syrup they taste wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Had this for a Thanksgiving...awesome pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have been making this exact same recipe for nearly 50 years. I add just a little extra (Mexican) vanilla, and a pinch of salt. Sometimes I add a cup of chocolate chips, but my Alabama-born husband likes it better without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
My mom showed me this recipe years ago. It is the only one I have ever used, though I often add more pecans. Covering the crust edge when baking is a must so it doesn't get too browned. The filling can be sticky when baking. I used to cover the crust edge with tinfoil, until I found a flexible silicone crust ring. One year, after starting to make the pie, I discovered I was out of vanilla so I used almond extract instead. That was the best pie ever! Now, I always skip the vanilla and use almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Easy and always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious, no-fail, and easy to make! I have been making this recipe for years and it never lets me down. I do put a ring of tin-foil around the crust edge for the entire baking time (for me its an hour) so the crust doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Right from the Karo syrup jar! I will try using Splenda this year to cut down on the sugar and buy lite Karo syrup (dark) if I can find it. This pie is a 5 star as it is. Only reason I'm trying to cut down on the sugar is because I'm having sugar problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Freeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is even better with dark corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Here's a hint to keep the edges of the pie crust from over-browning. Spray the underside of a crust protector ring with non-stick spray and place it on the unbaked pie before putting the pie in the oven. Do not remove the ring until the pie is finished baking. The crust will still brown nicely while covered. I do this for all of my quiches and two crust pies. I make my own rings out of heavy duty foil and they work like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Sage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States