Classic Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Fool-proof, this was easy, came out delicious and was a terrific dish to take to a dinner party. My hosts took it upon themselves to keep the leftovers, a great sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I really liked the addition of crystallized ginger! I used about 1/4 sugar sugar in the crisp topping since I prefer foods less sweet than most people. Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Taste was good but not enough topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
We loved it! Our pear trees produced so much fruit this year and we needed some ideas to make good use of it! This one was definitely enjoyable. We added some craisins but otherwise followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Pretty yummy! I added blueberries and nutmeg. I didn't have ginger but it worked out just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
really yummy! Had a great pear to crumble ratio. I used ginger powder instead of candied ginger, but the ginger added a nice kick! Delicious with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Some friends gave me 5 Asian pears from their tree...bought 3 Bartletts and made this. It was a great success, though I always have a problem getting the "crisp" crispy even though I added additional butter and baked longer. Next time will crank up the heat in the end to make it crispy and brown on top. GREAT dessert. Would make it again and add cranberries or blueberries or something else to make it interesting. Would like to cut the calories a bit, too. Vikki in WA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very good. One thing: I had to cook longer than recommended––more like 45 mins in an oven that usually cooks too QUICKLY. Since I had hungry, tired guests, I decided to turn up the oven to 400 at the end. That provided a nice, crispy topping. Because I just used shredded ginger as opposed to crystallized, I added some extra sugar. Delicious with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
It took a while for hubby to give this a rating as he just kept shoveling more and more into his mouth. It's November and he willingly went out to our orchard to pick me a few of the remaining pears...and told me afterwards that there was still some left. I think that was a not so subtle hint. Can't remember when he last ate THAT much dessert at one time before and without the ice cream, it wasn't all that bad for him! First class recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States