Classic Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Very good--a little different in texture, since when my children were growing up, I made them probably the size estimated here. I added the extra flour and peanut butter as others mentioned here, plus the teaspoon of vanilla. The flavor would be richer with the butter; however, since I had none, I used 1/2 cup cube margarine plus 1/2 cup shortening. Since everyone seems to like cookies larger these days, that's what I did, ending up with about 3 dozen. Just right at 375 degrees at 9 minutes. I tried some at 350 degrees earlier after preheating, but they were too pale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AyoungLady2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Photo by Paden
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I've cooked these cookies multiple times now, except I was adding a little bit more peanut butter as well as flour. Well this time I followed the instructions exactly as they said, except I used 1/2 crunchy 1/2 creamy peanut butter, and added 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, cooked on 375 for 12 mins and they're the best ones yet. They ends managed to stay crunchy while the middle is nice a chewy. So great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paden
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nai
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
These were exactly what I was looking for! I listened to other reviews and added some vanilla, 1/2 cup more peanut butter, 1/2 cup more AP flour, and 2Tbsp of cornstarch to keep them a bit more chewy. But I made the mistake of doubling this and oh my goodness I got soooooooo many cookies! I'm not sure if I am making them considerably smaller than others but I have soooo many cookies that I don't think I know how to get rid of them all! But truly if my only complaint is that the yeild amount seems a tad off well then honestly there isn't much to complain about :-) thank you for this post as this is now my go-to PB cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
These are exactly how a peanut butter cookie should taste. The flavor and texture is perfect. I did use creamy peanut butter because that is what I had and what I always use. I made recipe as written except I did add one teaspoon vanilla. Thanks for the great recipe Shirley Sadler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rhea Pan
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
easy and tasty. totally like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhea Pan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was a great recipe. I read other reviews which noted flatness of cookies so I added a little over 1/4 cup of flour. Also used creamy peanut butter and not crunchy as we dis n it have it on hand. Cookies came out nice, although they were a bit hard, so next time I will bake them a minute or two less. Thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
These cookies were perfect! We added chocolate chunks to them and I'm sure I'll be making them for years to come. I think the refrigeration is really helpful if you don't like flat cookies. Ours came out of the oven nice and plump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelaminx

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These are amazing. Peanut butter is my husband's favorite type of cookie and he absolutely loved them. I added more flour and peanut butter as the top reviews suggested and they came out simply fabulous! Froze well, too! I definitely will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca from LA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
FANTASTIC COOKIES...First time I'v made peanut butter cookies. I followed the recipe to a tee but did not know how to measure the peanut butter accurately so just put the whole jar of chunky Skippy in the batter. NO REGRETS. The aroma of the baked cookie is intoxicating and the next day, I could smell the cookies my husband had on a napkin, across the room. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Wells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Loved it but... no matter whose recipe you follow, after refridgeration of your dough, it turns out really really crumbly. Add one cup of milk and mix before baking your cookies. I get compliments every time I make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States