Classic Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I really like this recipe. I rolled my dough larger than I should have but I like a larger cookie. No big deal, but the trade off is you will lose most of the fork marks. The taste is wonderful, not too sweet. I chose to use salted butter (since I didn't have unsalted on hand) and ditched the salt addition listed. I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews. If the batter looks too loose or you know your oven tends to run hot, use your best judgment! Add a little flour or turn your oven down; my oven runs very hot so I turned it down to 360 degrees and had no burning issues. I highly recommend this recipe, just remember to keep your dough chilled right up until you put in the oven! If you have some lag time between shaping and baking or more dough to prepare while waiting for a free cookie sheet, pop the dough/prepped unbaked cookies back in the fridge until the pan is ready to go into the oven. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nathan Fincher
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe! First homemade cookies I've ever made. Only change I made was I cut the butter in half and replaced with 1/4 cup of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Fincher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very good but really greasy...needs a lot more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good classic PB cookie recipe. I would suggest though using a natural peanut butter without sugar and salt and use salted butter instead of sweet butter. If you can try to find a natural peanut butter with a strong flavor - some seem to stronger than others. When I first tried this recipe I wondered why it didn't taste like the cookies I had as a child and then I realized that all the sugar etc. in conventional PB products was masking the PB flavor. Using natural PB solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Didn't change a thing and I thouugt they were perfect, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
used smooth peanut butter. Added 1/4 cup more flour and peanut butter as reviewers suggested. very good!!! keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0000000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We didn't chill ours and yet they are still fluffy! Also we only had maybe 3/4 cup of peanut butter and accidentally used 1&1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. Good recipe! Not big on peanut butter but had a hankering tonight! Glad I chose this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Tried the recipe on it's own, and I have to be fair; only three stars' worth of good. I'm going to try the suggestions in these other reviews, and we'll see how it goes. I'm hoping I don't end up with more frisbee cookies - that really was quite frustrating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maelynd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
3.5 stars. These cookies are good, they don't taste bad at all but both my husband and I thought the peanut butter taste could have been stronger. The first batch I cooked for 9 mins and a couple cookies were too brown so I cooked the rest for 8 minutes and it resulted in a much tastier cookie, soft but crunchy at the same time. Next time I want to make pb cookies I'll probably look for another recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States