Classic Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very good but really greasy...needs a lot more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very good classic PB cookie recipe. I would suggest though using a natural peanut butter without sugar and salt and use salted butter instead of sweet butter. If you can try to find a natural peanut butter with a strong flavor - some seem to stronger than others. When I first tried this recipe I wondered why it didn't taste like the cookies I had as a child and then I realized that all the sugar etc. in conventional PB products was masking the PB flavor. Using natural PB solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Didn't change a thing and I thouugt they were perfect, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
used smooth peanut butter. Added 1/4 cup more flour and peanut butter as reviewers suggested. very good!!! keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0000000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blythe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We didn't chill ours and yet they are still fluffy! Also we only had maybe 3/4 cup of peanut butter and accidentally used 1&1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. Good recipe! Not big on peanut butter but had a hankering tonight! Glad I chose this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Tried the recipe on it's own, and I have to be fair; only three stars' worth of good. I'm going to try the suggestions in these other reviews, and we'll see how it goes. I'm hoping I don't end up with more frisbee cookies - that really was quite frustrating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maelynd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
3.5 stars. These cookies are good, they don't taste bad at all but both my husband and I thought the peanut butter taste could have been stronger. The first batch I cooked for 9 mins and a couple cookies were too brown so I cooked the rest for 8 minutes and it resulted in a much tastier cookie, soft but crunchy at the same time. Next time I want to make pb cookies I'll probably look for another recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendella
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I just finished making these cookies and they are wonderful. My son requested peanut butter cookies with chocolate chips in them. I did use creamy pb, because that is all I had. After reading some of the comments, I increased the flour and the peanut butter. I did not have any trouble with rolling the dough. The chocolate chips I used were frozen, and I did refrigerate the dough with the chips inside for almost an hour. Maybe because the chips were right from the freezer into the dough, that might have helped. I baked them at 350 for about 10 minutes. I had no trouble with them flattening out whatsoever. Actually, mine did not flatten hardly at all. They came out more like a cake-like cookie - which I like. My son loves them and so do I. Thank you for the original post, and for all the comments/suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made these cookies today. I think they are the best peanut butter cookies I've ever made. I made some adaptations based on some of the other reviews, but I also live at 7800 feet, so I needed to adjust for high altitude. To adjust for high altitude, I only used 3/4 cup butter and I cut back to 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp baking powder. In deference to the review recommendations, which were all great, I also added 1/2 cup extra peanut butter, 1/2 cup extra flour and 1 tsp vanilla. I love chocolate chips in my peanut butter cookies, so I added 1 cup+ mini chocolate chips. I don't like flat, crispy cookies, so I always refrigerate dough for 2-3 hours before baking and keep the dough in the fridge in between baking sheets of cookies. I think they come out better. This was a great recipe to start, the recommendations from the reviewers were spot on. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States