Classic Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by smkalrm88
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made a double batch of these today. Very good recipe! Followed other suggestions & increased the peanut butter (used 3 cups for double batch) & flour (used 6 cups). Used salted butter & omitted the additional salt. Baked at 350 for 9 min then took them out. I kept the dough refrigerated between batches. As you can see from my pic, I also threw in some choc chips in a few of the cookies. I feel the secret to my successful peanut butter recipes is to use Jif. In my opinion, that brand has the best fresh roasted peanut flavor that is hard to beat. Thanks for the recipe, Shirley! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My favorite peanut butter cookie recipe! This is the exact recipe I have been using for years from the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook - with one exception - theirs also calls for 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, which I highly recommend adding. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is. If you are looking for a very peanut flavored cookie, this probably isn't the recipe for you. However, if you are looking for a hint of peanut butter with a perfectly chewy, soft cookie... this one is for you. My family LOVES these cookies and can never get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
So I rated this recipe 5 stars and I think that is due mostly to all the fantastic comments before me. I read the comments and lot of comments discussed runny consistency so I made some tweaks. First of all, I made this with creamy peanut butter and that was only due to the fact that we had creamy in the house. Secondly, I added 1/2 each of flour and peanut butter as many comments suggested. Thirdly, I put the cookie dough in the fridge for 24 hours to firm up better for baking. Finally, I added in some chopped Reese's cups and white chocolate chips. I baked my cookies at 350 but I can not tell you for how long since I don't like to follow timers but remove them when they are done. My first batch came out looking not real runny but still a little smaller than I would like so with the second batch I made bigger balls of cookie dough and Volia! the perfect cookie. It tastes fantastic but I would recommend using more flour and peanut butter and letting the dough sit in your fridge for a while before you cook it so you don't waste all the ingredients due to a runny cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Best Peanut Butter Cookies I've made. QUESTION: I need to make the cookies today and only have natural (unsweetened/unsalted) peanut butter in my pantry. Suggestions for substitutions most welcome! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These cookies are delicious!!! I would definitely make them again!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Made these following instructions given with no changes or additions. They came out great. The last dozen baked I rolled in sugar before pressing with fork. This definately adds to the look and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly when making the cookie dough. However, because I wanted huge cookies, I cut the oven temp back to 350 and cooked them for 12 to 14 minutes. The center is soft and chewy and the edges just a little crunchy. Great recipe with plenty of peanut butter flavor. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These were so yummy! Wanted cookies as a late night snack and peanut butter was the only thing I had. I didn't have brown sugar so I just added the white sugar plus 1/4, nor did I have baking butter, so was surprised how good these still came out. I made them with freshly ground peanut butter where you grind it up at the store. My family ate them all up in two days. I did follow,DENIELLE2's advise on adding 1/4 more flour and 1/4 more peanut butter. Which made them more softer/chewier. I was going to do JENNIFERC77's advise but didn't have that much peanut butter. I'm going to make these my go to peanut butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
They turned out amazing and I didn't need to alter a thing!!!! They are really good and amazing!!! Love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaci Gunville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States