Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Great recipe! I made a few changes: I added garlic and replaced the thyme with two bay leaves (removed after cooking), `1 tsp basil and 1 tsp oregano. I didn't taste it before refrigerating overnight (as per other reviewers recommendations) so I can only assume that letting it sit overnight is a MUST. I put this into 4 or 5 mason jars--each jar is a serving--and it's gone in two days. Thanks for a delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Yes, this is sooooo good. Just something so tasty about it and then you're getting your carbs (pasta) and protein (beans) on top of all that veggie goodness - its the business! I love soups because they're so convenient and you can make a big pot for the week - heat up for lunch - and even dinner with a hearty soup like this - good work Mole888! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Thanks for this simple and delightful soup recipe! Sooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francois

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Everyone had seconds of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Just made this and it was yummy. After other reviewers said it was better the next day,I can't wait for tomorrow. All I did different was to add some spinach and some fresh basil,which I have an abundance in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
It wasn't the best minestrone soup i've ever had. But I've improvise by doubling the tomato and adding some fresh herbs like basil, parsley. Not a 5 star recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Much more flavorful after a day in the fridge! I didn't add any additional salt because my veg. stock was very salty already. I did add some crushed garlic to the pot with the veggies. This is a delicious, fresh way to get a days serving of vegetables. My boyfriend said he would have liked more pasta in the soup, in which case I would increase the veg. stock (and for those of you mathmatically challanged, like myself, 1.5 quarts is equivalent to 48 ounces of stock).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I'd give this more stars if I could. I've done this any number of ways, plus exactly as the recipe states. One comment that I didn't see from others is to add a dash of hot pepper sauce to the broth, adds just a little extra kick that my family loves. You can use just about ANY veggies that you have on hand, I also add some diced cabbage, great! Thanks for the super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Excellent! I quadrupled the recipe for a dinner party so I used a combination of cannelini, dark and light kidney beans, because that's what I had on hand. I made it the night before, let it sit in the fridge, and reheated it for dinner. I think it really helped the flavor set in all the vegetables. My friends still compliment me on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I didn't have a leek so I used an onion and also used chicken broth instead of veg. Thought it had a nice fresh taste. Simple recipe... I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treeskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States