Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This recipe was so good and easy. The only changes we made was we added garlic to the olive oil in the begining before adding the veggies. We added frozen corn when we added the tomatoes. We also only used half of the vegetable stock but made up for it by adding chicken stock. This is a very healthy recipe and I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was excellent!! The only thing I did differently was add beef broth instead of vegetable to give it a deeper flavor. I added all my garden fresh vegetables and herbs. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is a delicious soup! I made very little changes. I added fresh peas and used a can of chopped tomatoes with garlic and olive oil. I use a can of mixed beans ( that's all I had at home ). Everybody loved it! Made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Bellisimo!!! I mean really, this is very tasty, Vegetarian, subtle and hearty, just about as perfect, healthy and delicious as you can get, especially when sprinkled with real, finely grated, aged, parmesean cheese. The only 4 changes in the recipe I would recommend are; 1) Go easy on the salt for your sodium-concerned family and friends. The parmesean will more than make up for that. 2) Be sure to use fresh tomatoes on the vine and blanch and chop them for the flavor and aliveness of the food. 3) Add a few cloves of fresh, chopped garlic - yummy. 4) Consider leaving out the pasta, which my local, gourmet, Northern Italian restaurant chef says is a no-no in Northern Italy. He also says, meat or chicken is never used in classic, Tuscan minestrone, so this recipe is a perfect Vegan choice when the parmesean is omitted! Great recipe - Buongiorno! P.S. All of my vegetarian friends at the party I just served this recipe at last night raved! You should have seen them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Gurutrang Singh Khalsa, DC
Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Skipped the zucchini (don't like it); used canned tomatoes (too lazy), fresh green beans and added an onion...YUMMY, even straight from the pot. Parmesan on top = perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good recipe...needs doctoring. Exchanged garbonzo beans for cannelli. Also excluded the celery and green beans. Instead added cabbage and flat parsely. I used 16. Oz of macaroni. This was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Great recipe! I made a few changes: I added garlic and replaced the thyme with two bay leaves (removed after cooking), `1 tsp basil and 1 tsp oregano. I didn't taste it before refrigerating overnight (as per other reviewers recommendations) so I can only assume that letting it sit overnight is a MUST. I put this into 4 or 5 mason jars--each jar is a serving--and it's gone in two days. Thanks for a delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Yes, this is sooooo good. Just something so tasty about it and then you're getting your carbs (pasta) and protein (beans) on top of all that veggie goodness - its the business! I love soups because they're so convenient and you can make a big pot for the week - heat up for lunch - and even dinner with a hearty soup like this - good work Mole888! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Thanks for this simple and delightful soup recipe! Sooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francois

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Everyone had seconds of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States