Classic Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Not bad, but in need of spices. I put garlic in from the beginning, cooking it in the oil, and I also threw in a chopped potato. Fresh parsley, oregano, basil, and red wine spruced up the flavor some. Will search for additional spices if I make it again. Easy to make, and it only needs a bread or salad to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This recipe is great!! Full of flavor, just the right amount of vegetables and its very quick and easy. It's definitely best when made the day before you plan on serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
this was a good vegetable soup. NO WAY a minestrone. What Italian ever cooked without garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Very good but it is more like a very hearty vegetable soup. I cooked the pasta ahead of time so it wouldn't absorb so much liquid. I did not add salt because I used canned vegetable stock and there is plenty of salt in it already. For a change of pace, make mini-meatballs, cook them first, and then add them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This was the blandest soup I've ever made. I used my own stock, canned tomatoes and I cooked dried cannellini beans instead of canned-maybe those things caused the problem but I can't imagine why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This simply came out really really good! Great in the winter when getting home from work, and the next day at lunch too!! I also added fresh garlic at the beginning and some dried basil and orgeno at the end. smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe was great, I will definitely do it again. I didn't add pasta, though, but toasted some parmesan bread instead...yum! I also added potatos and garlic, and substituted onions for leeks. Instead of thyme I used Italian Herbs (because I didn't have any thyme). I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Excellent soup - I added a bit too much pepper, but it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This recipe is awesome. My husband is a vegetarian so I'm always looking for new and good meatless recipies. This soup is very easy to make and it truly is wonderful. I have made it at least 6 or 7 times already for us and family, everyone loves it. The only thing I added was potatoes because I love them so much, other than that I stick with the recipe and am very happy to have found it. If you like minestrone soup, one must at least give this recipie a try. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States