Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe would be wonderful but for the cooking time. There's no way this is baked fully in 45 min.....2.5 lbs of meat was completely rare. I cooked it for 45 additional minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made meat loaf last night, as someone stated the cooking time is off. more like Bake at 350°F for 1 hour 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
It's unfortunate to have to rate this pretty darned good meatloaf so poorly, but the fact that the cooking time is SO way off can neither be excused nor ignored. While he does mention that the meatloaf should reach a temperature of 160 degrees, a professional chef certainly ought to know that a 2-1/2 pound meatloaf would never cook through in 45 minutes, and this error could result in a very disappointing outcome for the inexperienced cook who trusts the recipe. The error should be corrected, as the recipe itself deserves a better rating - and the cooks who try this should be able to rely on the directions. As for the meatloaf itself, the "almost puree" of vegetables was novel for me, and I liked it. Not only are you getting some extra nutrients, but all these vegetables also contribute moisture and great flavor to the meatloaf. I'm not a fan of "Italian seasoning," so I just threw in a handful of fresh herbs - parsley, sage, thyme and oregano. I omitted the cayenne. I also skipped the glaze, which neither of us cares for. Cooking time will vary given the size and shape of your meatloaf, but my 2 pound loaf was cooked just right at 350 degrees for an hour and a half. (AR, if you correct the time and temp on this recipe, please raise my rating to four stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I increased the italian herbs (I assumed that to mean italian seasoning--I used my own homemade italian seasoning) to two teaspoons and I used homemade croutons (day old bread, brushed with EVOO and garlic powder, cut into 1 inch pieces and baked until crispy, then cooled) that I ground down in the food processor. Those were the only changes I made. Ginormous meat loaf. It fit in my Perfect Meat Loaf pan, but just barely, with a quarter inch at the top. Mine did take almost two hours to bake, taken out the last half hour to pour over the glaze. This was one of the better meat loaves I've ever made. Very flavorful, quite filling. I served homemade biscuits and Cheesy Vegetable Medley with this. Out of that big meatloaf, just under half remains--my oldest boy ate two pieces and my husband ate three! We all really liked it. The rest will be used for sandwiches in lunches tomorrow. I'll make this meat loaf again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My husband loved this meatloaf. My advice is to also watch the video because he gives you some extra tips on how to make it moist and tender. But whoever said there is alot of chopping involved is right. But meatloaf is easy to prepare ahead of time. While your chopping, chop extra and freeze it so that next time you will have it chopped already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I did not have all the vegetables so used what I had available at the time (carrots, celery & onion). I did use a food processor & think the finely chopped veg.s (even just the few I used) positively added to the flavor and moisture. I don't think the fine chopping can be achieved by hand. I watched the video & noted forming the loaf in a dish rather than I had been accustomed to using a bread loaf pan. I doubt I'll ever use a loaf pan again for meatloaf. I liked how this cooked in a larger casserole dish. I gave this 4 stars only because the sauce was too "mustardy" taste. We like a sweeter sauce so I just added more ketchup & brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Classic Meatloaf Haiku: "So close to five stars! We weren't fond of the glaze. Otherwise, awesome!" Absolutely adored this meatloaf, but the glaze was just a tad on the sweet side. I halved the recipe for 1 lb. beef, omitted mushrooms (didn't have any, but I just increased the other veggies - pureed veggies in meatloaf = brilliant!!) and baked mine at 350 for an hour. Seriously moist, magnificent meatloaf that I'll gladly make again, but I'd reduce, or drop the brown sugar all together next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I loved this recipe!! The meatloaf was so juicy and moist and bursting with flavor! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed veggies....SO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is a really good meatloaf! Cut the recipe in half and cooked it longer. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is really good and a good way to sneak in some veggies. I didn't have celery, so used green pepper and omitted the mushrooms because of lack thereof, but would definitely add them next time. the main difference was I put them in muffin tins (the big ones, not the little cupcake ones) and they were wonderful. Cooked it at 350 for 30-35min TOTAL. Very flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States