Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I really wanted to like this recipe because I love Chef John's Green Bean Casserole and Pot Roast but it may be the most disappointing meatloaf I've ever eaten. Here is my list of complaints: #1. the flavor of the vegetables is unappealingly prominent, probably would be better to saute the vegetable first to mellow the flavors before processing #2. the flavor of the dried thyme in the Italian seasoning does not go well with the meatloaf, #3. 2 T. of dijon mustard in the glaze was overpowering, using 1-2 t. would have been better or substituting regular mustard instead of dijon and #4. the cooking time was way off. When I checked the internal temperature after 45 minutes, it registered at 116 degrees. After I turned the oven up to 350 degrees it still took another 35-40 minutes to reach 160 and by then the mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli were cold. The end result was a dry, dense unappetizing meatloaf. Sorry, but this did not work out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. I was concerned because I did not have any eggs. So with a little research I found that some have used potato flakes or potato flour as a substitute in meatloaf. The ratio is 1 tablespoon per egg. I put in potato flakes: 1 1/2 tbs and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My husband loved this meatloaf. My advice is to also watch the video because he gives you some extra tips on how to make it moist and tender. But whoever said there is alot of chopping involved is right. But meatloaf is easy to prepare ahead of time. While your chopping, chop extra and freeze it so that next time you will have it chopped already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This recipe is really good and a good way to sneak in some veggies. I didn't have celery, so used green pepper and omitted the mushrooms because of lack thereof, but would definitely add them next time. the main difference was I put them in muffin tins (the big ones, not the little cupcake ones) and they were wonderful. Cooked it at 350 for 30-35min TOTAL. Very flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Made this meatloaf for family dinner of 20. Everyone loved it! I did cut the brown sugar by half to make the glaze less sweet. Baked it at 350 for 1.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I did not have all the vegetables so used what I had available at the time (carrots, celery & onion). I did use a food processor & think the finely chopped veg.s (even just the few I used) positively added to the flavor and moisture. I don't think the fine chopping can be achieved by hand. I watched the video & noted forming the loaf in a dish rather than I had been accustomed to using a bread loaf pan. I doubt I'll ever use a loaf pan again for meatloaf. I liked how this cooked in a larger casserole dish. I gave this 4 stars only because the sauce was too "mustardy" taste. We like a sweeter sauce so I just added more ketchup & brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Similar to another reviewer the ingredients didn't agree with me. The uncooked onion and green pepper upset my stomach. Other than that, or the next day it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I loved this recipe!! The meatloaf was so juicy and moist and bursting with flavor! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed veggies....SO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I did have to cook it for double the time suggested but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Excellent meatloaf! MAkes lots and very tasty. Only found it took about another 15 minutes to cook than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States