Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This recipe is amazing! I agree that the cooking time suggested was not enough however in adding 20 minutes it Was perfect. A huge hit in our home. I have been using my own meat loaf recipe for years BUT it's Chef John's classic for me in the future. Definitely a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Omg this was soooooo delicious. I followed the recipe except I used lean ground chicken ,extra lean ground beef and pound each and half a pound of bison. I am looking forward to my left overs. Thank you ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We made this recipe exactly like the recipe called for but we replaced the beef with ground venison...WOW, it was awesome. Even folks that "don't eat mealoaf" tried it and loved it. The flavors were great...The glaze can be spicy but very good so you need to pay attention to that but it was awesome! We also used a temp probe to ensure the meat was done...I think that is better than timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
A hit with the whole family! This was moist and full of flavor. My loaf was 2 pounds but otherwise followed the recipe, omitting the hot sauce. it took about 1 1/4 hours at 325. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe. I used ground turkey instead of chuck, forgot the mushrooms, and added teaspoon of cocktail sauce to my glaze instead of hot sauce. That snap of horseradish to the already great recipe is fantastic! Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Good comfort food. A winner .Maureen Cooling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Cooling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Yes. I is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Kline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephen McGlynn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Made this tonight, very tasty, easy recipe to follow. Did increase temperature and cooking time. Substituted ground oatmeal for bread, everything else the same. Made the twice baked potatoes which also came out terrific. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen McGlynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Chef John does it again. This unique approach to meatloaf is perfect for me, because I live in a country where the beef is grass-fed and very lean (Mexico). I have tried various approaches to making meatloaf that does not taste like sawdust. This is it. Thank you, Chef John. I did use half the salt and half of the brown sugar in the glaze. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, and I cooked it for about an hour. This is an excellent, healthy meatloaf, and we are looking forward to having sandwiches tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States