Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We made this recipe exactly like the recipe called for but we replaced the beef with ground venison...WOW, it was awesome. Even folks that "don't eat mealoaf" tried it and loved it. The flavors were great...The glaze can be spicy but very good so you need to pay attention to that but it was awesome! We also used a temp probe to ensure the meat was done...I think that is better than timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
A hit with the whole family! This was moist and full of flavor. My loaf was 2 pounds but otherwise followed the recipe, omitting the hot sauce. it took about 1 1/4 hours at 325. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe. I used ground turkey instead of chuck, forgot the mushrooms, and added teaspoon of cocktail sauce to my glaze instead of hot sauce. That snap of horseradish to the already great recipe is fantastic! Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Good comfort food. A winner .Maureen Cooling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Cooling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Yes. I is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Kline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephen McGlynn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Made this tonight, very tasty, easy recipe to follow. Did increase temperature and cooking time. Substituted ground oatmeal for bread, everything else the same. Made the twice baked potatoes which also came out terrific. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen McGlynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Chef John does it again. This unique approach to meatloaf is perfect for me, because I live in a country where the beef is grass-fed and very lean (Mexico). I have tried various approaches to making meatloaf that does not taste like sawdust. This is it. Thank you, Chef John. I did use half the salt and half of the brown sugar in the glaze. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, and I cooked it for about an hour. This is an excellent, healthy meatloaf, and we are looking forward to having sandwiches tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is an over complicated meatloaf that yielded a taste that nobody in our was excited by. Next time I'll stick with our simplified recipe. And the cooking time is off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Excellent and I used the original recipe!! New favorite in my home! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States