Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I halved the recipe and it fit perfectly in a loaf pan. I baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes. It definitely had a distinct taste - I think from the vegetables. I changed the glaze a little - more ketchup, less brown sugar, etc. Just to my own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is my son's favorite meatloaf,minus the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Made this for the homeless shelter last night. 12 pounds of meat for 40 guys made into 4 loaves. It was great. The guys are always appreciative, but last night they said "thank you" with feeling. One gentleman requested meatloaf 3 times a week. I served the meatloaf with Chef John's mushroom gravy and mashed potatoes. Comfort food for sure. I cut back a tad on the cayenne, pepper and salt, but otherwise followed the ingredient list very closely. The food-processed veggies are a genius addition. Baked in the oven for 1 1/2 hours and the meat loaves were perfect. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. Made it several times. And even though I don't like when people unnecessarily modify recipes, because then it's not the recipe given anymore. I have to say that I changed the cooking time on mine. Because you can't cook 2 1/2 lbs of raw ground meat in 45 minutes, without getting sick. The cooking time is closer to 90 minutes-to 1 hour 45 minutes. And it's still moist. Real comfort food for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I would suggest to everyone to watch the video on this recipe since the cooking instructions are different than the printed recipe. The cooking time is stated to reach a temp of 155°, and he states up to 40 more minutes or longer depending on the size of your loaf and pan you use. I heavily rely on a cooking thermometer when it comes to cooking meat in the oven. After the 50 minutes at 325°, my temperature was at 136, so I baked for 15 more minutes, it was then 157°, perfectly done in 1 hour 5 minutes. I always use a casserole dish with room on the sides in lieu of a loaf pan for meatloaf so the juices have some place to go instead of my oven floor. I only gave four stars, because although the flavor was close to excellent and certainly a very nice moist meatloaf, it just wasn't juicy like we're used to more like mushy moist, it had quite a different type of texture. We don't mind little chunks of veggies, and if you're one than needs to hide your veggies, this is your recipe. I think I prefer to very finely chop the veggies and give them a quick saute then add into the meat. The glaze was a bit strong on the mustard flavor even after I added in more ketchup. I left all the hot stuff out. We all liked it, but all three of my guys said they liked mine better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I love this recipe but the cooking time is way off.. I've tried this three times and each time have raised the oven temperature. Love the texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This meat loaf is delicious and I love the spicy zip to it! I omitted onions & celery due to preference, cut the recipe in half, and made in a bread pan packed in. Even though I halved the recipe, it still required the long end of the baking time (35-40 min) to get up to the needed temperature. This will be my "go-to" recipe - husband loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is by far the best tasting meatloaf I've ever made! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Thanks to these reviews I knew exactly how to adjust the cooking temp and time in advance. The only changes I made to the recipe were to exchange the brown sugar sauce for bbq sauce and to substitute 1/2 of the ground chuck for ground turkey. It was a big hit with some very picky eaters !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time, looking for something new. This recipe is without a doubt, a G R A N D S L A M! I've made meatloaf before and never had it taste this good! This certainly a WOW for dinner. Even our four year old picky eater cleaned her plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States