Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is an over complicated meatloaf that yielded a taste that nobody in our was excited by. Next time I'll stick with our simplified recipe. And the cooking time is off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Excellent and I used the original recipe!! New favorite in my home! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My husband & I made this for supper tonight. We upped oven temp to 375 & baked it 1 hr total to get temp to 160 degrees. My husband is a meatloaf hound & couldn't get enough. Moist & seasonings were perfect. Definitely 5 stars & a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I followed the recipe as instructed except I used beef, pork, veal mixed! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Very tasty and I love the idea of the added "hidden" veggies. My fussy daughter has no idea she ate mushrooms, red peppers, and onions! As previous reviewers mentioned, I definitely had to increase cooking time. Baked at 325 for about 1.5 hrs. But depending on how you form the loaf, that can vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a slightly altered version of my standard meatloaf recipe that I have made for years. No celery in mine. Mine calls for more mushrooms, which absorb moisture and gives it a nice moistness. It takes a long time to prepare it and to bake it. But I like it because it is so healthy. Be sure to cut the vegetables to a very small dice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My whole family loved this recipe! Best meatloaf yet! My husband is onion intolerant, so I left those out. Otherwise everything about this recipe was perfect and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a good basic recipe but my method is slightly different. Process the first 6 ingredients to small chunky state. Then the 7 ingredients after the ground beef, go into a bowl & get mixed. Then I put in the processed veggies, all the seasonings & eggs, etc & the ground beef and carefully & loosely mix it all together. I want all the veggies and seasonings to be thoroughly mixed BEFORE I add in my meat. Also, I use 1 egg/pound of beef. For 2-1/2 pounds, I would use 3 medium eggs. For a glaze, I only use ketchup & Dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
We all love the "crust" on meatloaf. I make four small loaves and place in a large Pyrex. Cooks faster , too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Not as good as I was hoping it would be. Plus cooking time way off. To me this is not a classic meat loaf. Classic for me is how mom used to make it, way to many ingredients in this one to be considered a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleysg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States