Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a slightly altered version of my standard meatloaf recipe that I have made for years. No celery in mine. Mine calls for more mushrooms, which absorb moisture and gives it a nice moistness. It takes a long time to prepare it and to bake it. But I like it because it is so healthy. Be sure to cut the vegetables to a very small dice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My whole family loved this recipe! Best meatloaf yet! My husband is onion intolerant, so I left those out. Otherwise everything about this recipe was perfect and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a good basic recipe but my method is slightly different. Process the first 6 ingredients to small chunky state. Then the 7 ingredients after the ground beef, go into a bowl & get mixed. Then I put in the processed veggies, all the seasonings & eggs, etc & the ground beef and carefully & loosely mix it all together. I want all the veggies and seasonings to be thoroughly mixed BEFORE I add in my meat. Also, I use 1 egg/pound of beef. For 2-1/2 pounds, I would use 3 medium eggs. For a glaze, I only use ketchup & Dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
We all love the "crust" on meatloaf. I make four small loaves and place in a large Pyrex. Cooks faster , too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Not as good as I was hoping it would be. Plus cooking time way off. To me this is not a classic meat loaf. Classic for me is how mom used to make it, way to many ingredients in this one to be considered a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleysg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Great recipe except for the cooking time. I have been making meatloaf like this for years. Sometimes I use other vegetables like sweet potatoes or zucchini. I don't really think you can get the veg fine enough by chopping (unless you plan to chop for AGES). Before I had a food processor I used to grate them. Also if you use oatmeal instead of the bread crumbs it becomes Gluten Free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is one of the best meatloafs I've ever had!! I doubled the glaze recipe thinking the meatloaf may be a little dry but I was surprised to find that it was very moist and tasty. It didn't need anything...it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC's Culinary Experiences

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great flavor so much better with the fresh vegetables as the flavoring in stead of some of the more prepared things. I made no change and it was perfect and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Not my favorite meatloaf recipe. When in comes to a purely ground beef meatloaf, however, this pretty good. My husband didn't really care for it, I thought it wasn't bad but my mother and roommates loved it thus the four stars. My husband and I both think the glaze is too sweet. We'll probably keep looking for a new meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Ka-t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It's a great recipe. The timing is off, more like oven 350 F for 1 hr and 20 mins (therm @170 degrees) when done. Great taste meatloaf. One more change, I use ground beef, veal, pork. It was unbelievable taste. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States