Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great basic recipe, which is what we were looking for. We added more evaporated milk and also an egg for bonding (we're bonding mac n cheese types LOL!). This was great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Simple recipe. Great results!! My daughter went for 2nds which is rare. I added additional milk (most of 1 can of Carnation Evaporated milk) as suggested. I also made a bread crumb and paprika topping. I also mixed 1 Tbsp. each of ground mustard, pepper, and seasoned salt as I feared the recipe would be bland and we don't care for bland food. The only thing I would do different is to try 4 more oz. of cheese or a little less macaroni. In our opinion could have used some more cheese flavor. I baked at 375 on the top rack of the oven for about 40-45 minutes and the top was perfect!!! This will NOT turn out like box Mac and Cheese just to manage expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have always tried to find a simple mac & cheese that tasted just like the one my mom made for me when I was little... this one is BETTER! Thanks for sharing! Only thing I did different was shred the cheese & mix with the macaroni before I put it in the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Quite Good and the family loved it! I tweeked it a little - adding a little minced garlic and cayenne pepper and cooked it for 50 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
After trying a different recipe on here that called for all sorts of ingredients, like sour cream and cottage cheese... I decided to try a more "normal" recipe because my family really didn't like the other one. They said this is how mac and cheese should taste. :) I took a couple suggestions from the ppl on here and used 1/2 kraft cheddar and 1/2 kraft american cheese... and cooked it at 350, covered the dish as well when I baked it. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This pretty good. The family enjoyed it. I used sharp cheddar and american cheese. Turned the temp down. The top still hardened. I would just add some more seasoning next time. I put it in an 8x8 pan and used 1 1/2 cans of evap milk. It set up nice and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
very good. im not the best cook, but this came out very delicious and my husband loved it too. I didn't have evaporated milk, so i used whole milk instead. I also used shredded cheese throughout it and only 2 slices of cheese in the center. Cooked for 30 min on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Excellent! Just like Mother used to make, except for the oven temp. 350 is a better temp for baking this. I added a little onion, and a tad more cheese. Also added a little more regular milk to keep it moist. Ummmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This dish couldn't have come out any better! My mom has now recruited me to make this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My husband doesn't like mac & cheese in general, but he loved this recipe. I'd been searching for a good home-made recipe for years, and tend to find most either not cheesy enough, or just plain bland. But we both loved this one! I altered the recipe slightly, using shredded cheese, adding an extra half pound of cheese and adding an extra can of evaporated milk. I cooked for 45 minutes on 350. Any hotter and the top will definitely burn. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States