Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I've never made macaroni and cheese before with evaporated milk, and I was surprised at how good this was! The only changes I made were that I melted the butter and mixed it with the pasta, and I crumbled the cheese and mixed it in instead of slicing it. Before I baked it, I covered the top of the casserole dish with a mixture of bread crumbs and grated cheese, and it made a really nice crunchy golden brown crust at the top. The evaporated milk gave it such a good, creamy taste, and my daughter, who can be really picky, loved it. I baked it at 375 for 45 minutes until it was no longer liquid inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WriterKat
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
So creamy & delicious! I followed the reviewer recommendations to bake @ 350 for one hour (covered for 45 minutes, uncovered for 15). I put in almost 1 lb of Cheddar & about 6 Velveta slices. Towards the last 15 minutes, I added 2 more Velveta slices torn apart and put them on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heatherella
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is my all-time favorite macaroni and cheese recipe. Growing up, my mom and grandmother never made this dish, so one holiday season I went on a search through all of their cookbooks for the perfect recipe. We tried it and everybody loved it. Immediately it was my grandmother's favorite recipe and she quickly became known for her excellent home-made mac and cheese. I was thrilled to find the recipe on allrecipes.com and I made it yesterday for Thanksgiving. The kids and adults both loved and praised the dish. With that being said, I want to add that I did cover the casserole for the first 30 minutes and then took it out and sprinkled shredded chedder cheese on top and backed it uncovered for the next 30 mins. The top still came out a little bit crispy so I may keep it covered longer the next time I make this. Also, I added about 1/4 cup of cheese to the recipe and it was just right Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Following the lower temperature definitely helps make the dish what it is. I've made this for quite a few people and needless to say, they've all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkiri
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe. Sadly I didn't enjoy it. The cheese was clumped around and not creamy at all. It was pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The perfect balance of cheese and macaroni - rich without being over the top. I modified this recipe by adding Parmesan cheese and baked it at 325 for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adelma Lilliston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Wonderful recipe, exactly what I wanted and so easy! I added dry mustard, a dash of cayenne and an egg (I don't think the egg was necessary), and used half sharp cheddar and half Mexican mix. I did not double the cheese or evaporated milk and love the consistency and baked at a lower temp for less time. Comfort food and memories from childhood, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My family loved it! I loved the ease with which it can be prepared! Kathi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this for the first time at Christmas and the only thing that I did not do was make enough. The whole family loved it, and scrapped the dish clean. Fantastic job. I do tweak it a bit by following what the other reviews say, add more evaporated milk and more cheese minor details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
LOVE this recipe. I have previously rarely made macaroni & cheese because cleaning the cheesy pan is a pain. Cleaning up after this dish is a breeze! Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States