Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by WriterKat
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
So creamy & delicious! I followed the reviewer recommendations to bake @ 350 for one hour (covered for 45 minutes, uncovered for 15). I put in almost 1 lb of Cheddar & about 6 Velveta slices. Towards the last 15 minutes, I added 2 more Velveta slices torn apart and put them on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heatherella
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is my all-time favorite macaroni and cheese recipe. Growing up, my mom and grandmother never made this dish, so one holiday season I went on a search through all of their cookbooks for the perfect recipe. We tried it and everybody loved it. Immediately it was my grandmother's favorite recipe and she quickly became known for her excellent home-made mac and cheese. I was thrilled to find the recipe on allrecipes.com and I made it yesterday for Thanksgiving. The kids and adults both loved and praised the dish. With that being said, I want to add that I did cover the casserole for the first 30 minutes and then took it out and sprinkled shredded chedder cheese on top and backed it uncovered for the next 30 mins. The top still came out a little bit crispy so I may keep it covered longer the next time I make this. Also, I added about 1/4 cup of cheese to the recipe and it was just right Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Following the lower temperature definitely helps make the dish what it is. I've made this for quite a few people and needless to say, they've all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkiri
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe. Sadly I didn't enjoy it. The cheese was clumped around and not creamy at all. It was pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The perfect balance of cheese and macaroni - rich without being over the top. I modified this recipe by adding Parmesan cheese and baked it at 325 for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adelma Lilliston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Wonderful recipe, exactly what I wanted and so easy! I added dry mustard, a dash of cayenne and an egg (I don't think the egg was necessary), and used half sharp cheddar and half Mexican mix. I did not double the cheese or evaporated milk and love the consistency and baked at a lower temp for less time. Comfort food and memories from childhood, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My family loved it! I loved the ease with which it can be prepared! Kathi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this for the first time at Christmas and the only thing that I did not do was make enough. The whole family loved it, and scrapped the dish clean. Fantastic job. I do tweak it a bit by following what the other reviews say, add more evaporated milk and more cheese minor details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
LOVE this recipe. I have previously rarely made macaroni & cheese because cleaning the cheesy pan is a pain. Cleaning up after this dish is a breeze! Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is the way my mom always made mac and cheese, and it's probably my fave...I've made it many ways...and this is by far the easiest & has the least amount of ingredients. Definate "comfort food". I lived on this when I was nursing my 2nd daughter as everything I ate seemed to bother her:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States