Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This mac & cheese was good, but still a little bit drier than I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
meh, we were not impressed...will stick with my old recipe which has cottage cheese and sour cream which seems to give a classic some depth, this wasn't even very creamy =( sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
this was delicious the only thing i would add is to season the pasta with garlic powder, seasoning salt {lawreys} ground black pepper. use an egg and for butter i cant believe its not butter. that butter is delicious. also i didnt drain the pasta cuz it can become dry. leavn the water makes it creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made according to recipe and didn't have any problems with it being dry. I did halve the reciped as there is only two of us. Big mistake, making it tonight and will make full batch! Boyfriend gave a great review and he makes his own mac & cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was an interesting change from my usual mac n cheese (which involves a flour/butter roux). I had leftover fettucine noodles and frozen evaporated milk cubes, so I thought, let's try it. I didn't have cheddar; instead I used a mixture of Swiss and Monterey Jack. I sprinkled a little ground mustard on top of my noodles when I sprinkled the pepper & salt on. I also made a bread crumb & bacon topping, because it just isn't mac n cheese to us without that. The evaporated milk cooked into a sort of white custard that was noticeable, though not unpleasant. The chunks of custard are something I have always tried to avoid in my mac n cheese recipes and for that reason I'm unlikely to make this particular recipe again. It is also my opinion that "salt and pepper to taste" on noodles you'd probably rather not taste in their sauceless state is a bit too vague for most cooks. With that said, this is a great base recipe to start off from--but I think a novice cook would be better served with another, more specific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Loved it! 350 degrees for 50 minutes was the key! All I had was shredded cheese..same thing though..turned out fantastic! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was just the recipe I was looking for! I can't say I'm reviewing THIS recipe, in all fairness. I didn't use evaporated milk, instead I used fresh whole milk. And I like to use various cheeses (Monterey Jack and New York Extra Sharp, plus a little American) but it was just the recipe I needed to make my own changes to. I did put it in a 3 qt. casserole dish like another reviewer suggested and it was perfectly sized with no bubbling over. I made a roasted chicken to go with it and was surprised no one even touched it! The best part had to be the zombie-like "I'm so full" stares from the whole family who normally is so chatty during dinner but tonight they were oddly quiet while shoveling in this delicious mac n cheese as fast as they could. Thank you Cordi Tierno for a recipe I'm sure I'll be making often this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is the best homemade, baked mac n cheese that I've ever made. This was actually creamy and I liked it. I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My husband LOVED it! I made only 1/2 the batch and used a different noodle. But all in all, it was VERY yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Not quite as good as my regular mac & cheese recipe, but it's a close second and much easier and faster to prepare. I used shredded cheddar instead of slices and sprinkled buttered bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States