Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I got started making this and realized that I did not have any evaporated milk left so I used cream and some 1% milk and also realized that I was out of cheddar cheese so I used mozzarella and some kraft sandwich cheese. I came out really creamy and yummy and there was none left. I know it may sound like a heart attack waiting to happen but I normally NEVER make homemade mac and cheese. I served this with restaurant style buffalo wings and mahogany chicken wings from this sight. I got great reviews so thank you for the base!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was my first attempt at making homemade mac and cheese and I must say, I am happy with it. There were a few changes I made (following advice from other on the site), like changing to a 3 qt dish, turning over to 350 and cooking about 40 minutes, and it does need more evaporated milk. I did a combo of colby jack, mild cheddar and Kraft Deluxe American slices. Next time I may omit the cheddar since it didn't melt well and maybe use a bit of Velveeta. Overall, I was very pleased with the dish and will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was really bland and had an unappetizing texture. I'm only giving it a star because the man of the house ended up eating it all but I think it was due to there being little else to snack on at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I chose this recipe because I thought it would be easy and delicious and thankfully, I was right! :) My kids, who are lovers of mac and cheese, really dug into this and ate three helpings each. My only recommendation would be to increase the amount of condensed milk to make it creamier. I will try this next time I make the recipe. Overall, delicious, simple, and it makes a good deal of food to feed the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I can't give 5 stars since I enhanced the recipe submitted with some mustard powder & garlic salt. I also stirred it after 25 minutes, then baked for 15 more minutes @ 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Followed the recipe almost exactly, but I did take the advice by lowering the temp to 350. I didn't have sharp cheddar cheese, so I used Kraft American cheese and block of cheddar cheese. I cubed the cheddar cheese and sprinkled it with cubed ham. Not too shabby! Will make again :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Did not like this at all. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Colaneri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
oh my my my..... i made this last night for my house full of boys and they loved it!!! The only two things are thatthe time should be cut in halfso 30 minutes, and i added(about 1 tbsp of each) some seasoned salt, some ground mustard, and black pepper in a small container and mixed them together and sprinkled on top of each layer of noodles(so a tsp on each layer). Any self respecting southern woman who makes homemade mac'n'cheese from scratch knows that the flavor that cant be explained is ground mustard. But this takes like an hour less to make and the clean up is fool proof. Not like "Grandma's" but its something to be proud of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ma_of2buckaroos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Tried this recipe because my boyfriend wanted to try something different, I don't usually cook from scratch or anything like this. Well it was really easy and simple, I used a little too much butter but other than that followed everything to the T. I put a little garlic powder and some breadcrumbs on the top which were a nice touch and gave it a kick. My boyfriend and his mom and dad loved it, as did my puppy after he got a taste from some falling on the floor. I definitely recommend this recipe and thanks to everyone else for all the good advice and input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
350 degrees worked much better and I used a little more butter and substituted regular milk. The good thing about this is it's so easy there is room for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corexian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States