Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I have made this every year for the past several years for special occasions, holidays, and company potlucks. It's a true custard style Mac & cheese recipe. For people that grew up on this style, it's the best. I do add mustard powder, onion powder, garlic powder, and Italian bread crumbs dotted with butter on top. This just adds a little more flavor and a breaded topping. I also use a large oval 7 quart slow cooker & double the recipe. When I bring it to work, I plug it in there and cook on low for 3 hours. By the time it's ready, it's hot and good to go. I get many complements and requests for this at work & home. It's never been a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I am a can't boil water kinda cook this is easy to make. And really good if I can make it any body can!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Grandkids love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Yokiel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I was looking for a good "basic" mac and cheese recipe without a lot of frills and this one really worked. It was creamy and delicious. I listened to the comments and reduced the oven temp to 350 and the cooking time to 45 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wasn't a fan. I added some extra cheese and milk and tried it on 350 like everyone else said but it still came out really dry and flavorless. I prefer a more creamy mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yyomegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katchat
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this and it is the best ever. I used less macaroni as there are only 2 of us and I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of slices. I also baked it at 350 for 45 minutes and that was just the perfect amount of time. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Followed advice of reviews and added extra cheese (1-1/2C), milk (1-3/4C) and butter (2Tbsp) in a 3 quart casserole dish since I am of the belief that cheesier is usually better. I didn't think all of the milk (used 2% milk instead of evap milk) would be absorbed but it was after baking at 350 for 45 min. Result was excellent! This is the Mac & cheese recipe I've been searching for! Family loved it except we could do without the crunchy top so next time I'll cover it in the oven until the last 5-10 min. Bonus is that 1 serving (1/8 of the dish) equals only 8 weight watchers points!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
yummy!!!! This was my fist time making home made mac and cheese, it was so easy and so good! I did follow some of the other's advice and added more cheese, baked at 350 for 1hr, and used 1 1/2 cans of condensed milk, it came out perfect. My family were fighting for seconds and thirds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe suggested and my family thought it was delicious. We are not fans of super- creamy and saucy mac & cheese, so this was perfect. It cooks up so that you can virtually cut it into "bars." It was SO EASY to make, as well. Unlike other reviewers, we loved how it got brown and a bit crunchy on the top. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
thanks so very much! I've been cooking for 54 years. My beloved mother in law taught me, and she used to make this.. I didn't make it for so long I didn't remember exactly how much of what to put in it. Its my husbands favorite way of having mac and cheese. I'm making it tonight and he will be so surprised. This is a great recipe, and again, I thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States