Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I only give it 3 stars as written because of two things -- 375 for an hour is too hot so your top will BURN (I did 350 for an hour and that was perfect), and it needs at least double the cheese. With these two alterations you'd have a five star classic mac-n-cheese recipe that will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
488 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I thought this was great, but I made some changes. Reduced cooking temp to 350, used 12oz of noodles instead of a pound, used half mild cheddar and half Kraft Deluxe American Cheese (sandwich slices), and increased the amount of evaporated milk. This was a homerun for all three kids and it reminded me of the way it used to taste when I was growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Finally, a recipe for the mac and cheese I grew up with! I followed other reviewer's advice and doubled the cheese and evaporated milk. I also melted the butter and evenly coated each layer of macaroni. I baked it at 375 for 45 minutes uncovered which was a little too long...next time I will either lower the temperature to 350 or shorten the bake time. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I'll be making this again; it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I have tried so many mac and cheese recipes that my family panics when I say I'm trying another one. They have all been failures. But after reading the reviews, I decided to give it a shot. I didn't measure anything and only used what I had on hand. 2% milk (and prolly not enough), american slices, grated colby. I didn't add the dry mustard...just the salt and pepper. I did make it in 2 pans. My kids raved, the hubby went back for more. One pan is empty and the other was hit hard. This is an absolutely incredible, fail-proof recipe. Ooey-gooey, the way gramma made it, macaroni and cheese at it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
YUMMY! Out of all the mac n' cheese recipes my famiy has tested this one wins the prize! I followed the advice of another review and used 12 oz. of elbow noodles, reduced the temp to 350', used 1/2 sharp cheddar cheese and 1/2 Kraft Deluxe American and increased the evaporated milk to about 15-16 ozs. I also covered the top so I wouldn't end up with some "hard" noodles on top. I think the layering really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Wonderful! This was exactly how I had Mac and Cheese growing up. I used fresh milk since my evaporated milk had gone bad and it worked out just fine. My father used to use fresh milk too. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is a good skeleton. I definitely altered things on a got-it-don't-got-it basis. The main reason I like this recipe is because of the execution. Layering hard cheese & then pouring some milk (I actually used 6oz half & half with 6oz buttermilk leftover from a cake) over it was novel to me because my family did the heated up milk-egg-cheese combo poured over the noodles. I might have sneaked an egg into the cream and milk just because it didn't seem right without it. The proportions are way off, though. I'll have to make it again just to get it exactly right because I had to put some of the extra noodles & cheese in a smaller dish. The butter was unnecessary for me. I used sliced cheese and shredded cheese ('cause I had it) the sliced was American while the shredded was provolone, cheddar, Monterey Jack, and mozzarella. I also lowered the oven temp. like reviewers suggested and didn't really bother with a cook time since there seemed debate on the topic. Did maybe 30 minutes initially and just kept adding ten or so depending on how it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilliVivi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This recipe tastes great. The problem I had with this recipe is that it calls for a 2qt dish. Here's a tip - use a 3 quart dish. Cooking in a 2qt dish caused a major spill-over in my oven. I can only give this recipe 3 stars due to the mess it caused in my oven. When I use a larger dish next time it will prob get 4 or 5 stars. Now....when will the person who wrote this recipe be over to my house to clean my oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Love this macaroni and cheese! It's like the old-timey macaroni-and-cheese pie, baked to a golden, crusty delicousness. The flavor and texture of the cheese really comes through in thsi simple recipe. (I could see trying this recipe using a ripe Camembert or Brie -- yum.) The evaporated milk gives the dish a nice tang. I use two 12-ounce cans because I like my mac and cheese extra rich. This is real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
The kids loved it! The adults couldn't eat it though, it was so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States