Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was an interesting change from my usual mac n cheese (which involves a flour/butter roux). I had leftover fettucine noodles and frozen evaporated milk cubes, so I thought, let's try it. I didn't have cheddar; instead I used a mixture of Swiss and Monterey Jack. I sprinkled a little ground mustard on top of my noodles when I sprinkled the pepper & salt on. I also made a bread crumb & bacon topping, because it just isn't mac n cheese to us without that. The evaporated milk cooked into a sort of white custard that was noticeable, though not unpleasant. The chunks of custard are something I have always tried to avoid in my mac n cheese recipes and for that reason I'm unlikely to make this particular recipe again. It is also my opinion that "salt and pepper to taste" on noodles you'd probably rather not taste in their sauceless state is a bit too vague for most cooks. With that said, this is a great base recipe to start off from--but I think a novice cook would be better served with another, more specific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Loved it! 350 degrees for 50 minutes was the key! All I had was shredded cheese..same thing though..turned out fantastic! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was just the recipe I was looking for! I can't say I'm reviewing THIS recipe, in all fairness. I didn't use evaporated milk, instead I used fresh whole milk. And I like to use various cheeses (Monterey Jack and New York Extra Sharp, plus a little American) but it was just the recipe I needed to make my own changes to. I did put it in a 3 qt. casserole dish like another reviewer suggested and it was perfectly sized with no bubbling over. I made a roasted chicken to go with it and was surprised no one even touched it! The best part had to be the zombie-like "I'm so full" stares from the whole family who normally is so chatty during dinner but tonight they were oddly quiet while shoveling in this delicious mac n cheese as fast as they could. Thank you Cordi Tierno for a recipe I'm sure I'll be making often this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is the best homemade, baked mac n cheese that I've ever made. This was actually creamy and I liked it. I cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My husband LOVED it! I made only 1/2 the batch and used a different noodle. But all in all, it was VERY yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Not quite as good as my regular mac & cheese recipe, but it's a close second and much easier and faster to prepare. I used shredded cheddar instead of slices and sprinkled buttered bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great recipe! Adults loved it as much as the kids. I changed a couple of things...I doubled the cheese and used Velveeta only. I doubled the milk and baked for 1 hour on 350. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
To me, there's two kinds of mac and cheese: the firm, drier kind, and the creamy kind. When I tried this recipe, I got a firm, drier result. That's fine, but I wish I'd read the reviews first - it definitely needs more cheese and a lower baking temperature. Mine is extremely crisp on the top and sides, but the middle is moist and firm. I might try this again, but I'll probably use one can of evaporated milk, then a can of regular milk.. and I'll double the cheese and use half sharp/half medium cheddar. It could also use a bit of onion. It's easy enough that it's worth messing around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used some half and half. I cut the recipe in half because there are only two of us and it was cooked in 30 minutes. I will being making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very good but need more evaporated milk and lower cooking temp to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States