Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I can't give 5 stars since I enhanced the recipe submitted with some mustard powder & garlic salt. I also stirred it after 25 minutes, then baked for 15 more minutes @ 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Followed the recipe almost exactly, but I did take the advice by lowering the temp to 350. I didn't have sharp cheddar cheese, so I used Kraft American cheese and block of cheddar cheese. I cubed the cheddar cheese and sprinkled it with cubed ham. Not too shabby! Will make again :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Did not like this at all. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Colaneri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
oh my my my..... i made this last night for my house full of boys and they loved it!!! The only two things are thatthe time should be cut in halfso 30 minutes, and i added(about 1 tbsp of each) some seasoned salt, some ground mustard, and black pepper in a small container and mixed them together and sprinkled on top of each layer of noodles(so a tsp on each layer). Any self respecting southern woman who makes homemade mac'n'cheese from scratch knows that the flavor that cant be explained is ground mustard. But this takes like an hour less to make and the clean up is fool proof. Not like "Grandma's" but its something to be proud of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ma_of2buckaroos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Tried this recipe because my boyfriend wanted to try something different, I don't usually cook from scratch or anything like this. Well it was really easy and simple, I used a little too much butter but other than that followed everything to the T. I put a little garlic powder and some breadcrumbs on the top which were a nice touch and gave it a kick. My boyfriend and his mom and dad loved it, as did my puppy after he got a taste from some falling on the floor. I definitely recommend this recipe and thanks to everyone else for all the good advice and input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
350 degrees worked much better and I used a little more butter and substituted regular milk. The good thing about this is it's so easy there is room for variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corexian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was pretty good, although a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Ruthie (my mom) would be proud. I always loved her mac and cheese but never knew the proportions. (She always tipped the dish to tell how much milk to add. ) This recipe was wonderful and comforting. Both my husband and I loved it. The only change I made was to use regular milk. I shorten the cooking time by 15 minutes. Thank you for this classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
edible, that's the best thing i can say about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Galloway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Wasn't fantastic, wasn't horrible (hence the mediocre rating). Kids didn't like it and wanted the "real" mac n' cheese (Kraft). Was a bit grainy and needed some tweaking with more pepper and some garlic salt. Would've SURELY been overcooked if kept in the oven as long as recipe states. Did take other's advice and added another can of evaporated milk. Not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States