Classic Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wasn't a fan. I added some extra cheese and milk and tried it on 350 like everyone else said but it still came out really dry and flavorless. I prefer a more creamy mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yyomegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katchat
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this and it is the best ever. I used less macaroni as there are only 2 of us and I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of slices. I also baked it at 350 for 45 minutes and that was just the perfect amount of time. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Followed advice of reviews and added extra cheese (1-1/2C), milk (1-3/4C) and butter (2Tbsp) in a 3 quart casserole dish since I am of the belief that cheesier is usually better. I didn't think all of the milk (used 2% milk instead of evap milk) would be absorbed but it was after baking at 350 for 45 min. Result was excellent! This is the Mac & cheese recipe I've been searching for! Family loved it except we could do without the crunchy top so next time I'll cover it in the oven until the last 5-10 min. Bonus is that 1 serving (1/8 of the dish) equals only 8 weight watchers points!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
yummy!!!! This was my fist time making home made mac and cheese, it was so easy and so good! I did follow some of the other's advice and added more cheese, baked at 350 for 1hr, and used 1 1/2 cans of condensed milk, it came out perfect. My family were fighting for seconds and thirds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe suggested and my family thought it was delicious. We are not fans of super- creamy and saucy mac & cheese, so this was perfect. It cooks up so that you can virtually cut it into "bars." It was SO EASY to make, as well. Unlike other reviewers, we loved how it got brown and a bit crunchy on the top. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
thanks so very much! I've been cooking for 54 years. My beloved mother in law taught me, and she used to make this.. I didn't make it for so long I didn't remember exactly how much of what to put in it. Its my husbands favorite way of having mac and cheese. I'm making it tonight and he will be so surprised. This is a great recipe, and again, I thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I am new at this thing called coolking. I like the recipe and will try again. The only reason I did not give it four stars is the warming up of the dish. I missed the chunks you get with adding egg. I followed the recipe exactly. I am learning and this was a good first try at it. Next time I will add two eggs to get more of the dish to be chunky. The only thing I did change was turning down the temp to 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is the macaroni and cheese I grew up with. Maybe my mother put an egg in sometimes, but I don't think she did on a regular basis. She just poured the milk (fresh milk, usually) in the baking dish until it was about half way up the macaroni in the dish. I can't imagine twice the cheese or twice the milk as one reviewer suggested. The amount of cheese in the recipe seems right to me. I did cook at 350 until bubbly and a bit browned at the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made it tonight and it was my first time ever, making homemade mac and cheese. Everyone loved it! I made a 9x12 pan and doubled the recipe, I also used Kraft Deluxe American cheese and shredded mild cheddar cheese. I melted my butter and mixed in ground mustard, white pepper and salt. Mixed that in with the pasta, then layered it with the cheese. I poured over two cans of evaporated milk and covered it with foil. I baked it on 350 for about 45 minutes. Will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I grew up on this Mac and cheese my dad made it all the time but along with the evaporated milk he used a large can of stewed tomatoes broken up by hand along with the juice and I also added regular milk just to the top of macaroni then bake until done to this day it is still my all time favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States