Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
sweet, cut back sugar; needed boiled eggs & celery. Did not have so used celery seed. Made the dressing the night before, pasta really sucks up the dressing may want to double so can keep adding as needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I found it turned out to taste like honey mustard. To alter this recipe I would probably cut down the sugar as well as the vinegar and mustard, as the dressing that was made straight from the recipe was very intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Warning from other reviewers on the sugar. Start small, add to taste. Except for that, which I'm glad I paid heed, I would have given 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I'm not sure how "classic" this is but it has a good foundation for greatness. I liked the addition of sugar, though I reduced the amount to 1/3 cup. It rendered a delicate sweetness, and balanced well with the other ingredients. There was definitely something missing, so I added 3 hard cooked eggs as others suggested, sliced black olives, and cooked green peas. I also suggest using green onions as they have more flavor. Personally I don't like bell pepper in my mac salad, so I omitted it. The dressing stays nice and keeps the pasta moist in the salad, with no need to add anything else prior to serving. Great for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the best macaroni salad! I added some bread & butter pickles chopped up in small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is the first time I've made macaroni salad. It was a pretty easy recipe. I cut back on the sugar a little. I added 3 eggs & 4 dill pickle spears. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
You got a winner there Bradford,Muffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
About as good a macaroni salad as I've had, but only because I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
YUM!!! I used 1.5 boxes of macaroni noodles but kept the sauce ratio about the same (just over-measured on the mayo). I did cut the sugar down to a little shy of a 1/4 C & added a some finely chopped red pepper instead of pimento. VERY happy how this turned out (see my pic). :o]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
My family loves this macaroni salad. The only thing I changed, like many of the others that commented, was I only used a 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of vinegar and added a few dashes of paprika. Thank you for the recipe. I make it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States