Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Really good but really sweet! I will make again (probably many times!) but use 1/2 the sugar. My husband loved the yellow mustard in it. I suggest you let it sit overnight but reserve 1/3 to 1/2 the dressing to add just before serving. A great BBQ-on-the-deck side dish. Very easy to make and so much better than grocery store deli salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This recipe was worth making and very good especially if you haven't made macoroni salad before. I made this recipe but added hard boiled eggs and dill pickles. At the same time I did a seperate version but with potatoes to make a potatoe salad (minus a few of ingredients like the pickles that I added, carrots, green peppers, etc...only kept the onions, eggs, and celery along with the mayo mixture and red potatoes ). I actually recommend doing this on potatoes instead!! The mayo mixture is perfect for potatoe salad as someone previously recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
i would take out vinegar and 1/4 of the mustard and to add a special touch 3 boiled eggs chopped up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Followed the recipe with one small exception, I diced the vegetables. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Heins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Tried this recipe 3 times. As is, way too sweet! It's perfect if you cut the sugar to 1/3 cup, even 1/4 cup. Increase the pepper by 1 teaspoon. Just remember that if its too sweet add pepper. Last adjustment was that I added diced roasted red pepper and not the optional pimento. You can get that canned or skip it all together. Another tip is to only use green bell pepper. Red, yellow and orange will only add to the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cactus39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I just made this exactly as written and think it turned out great. I will save half without hard boiled eggs since my son in law is allergic, but add a couple to the rest of the family's. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I would give it 5 stars if I didn't have to cut the sugar. I only put 1/4 cup in and that is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Since my measuring cup is metric I might have added a little too much vinegar, but other than that this was pretty good and dead simple. I boiled eggs, chopped them up, and added them to the salad as well. It definitely tastes better after left to chill over night rather than a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I wasn't too crazy about this recipe. I cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup because I didn't want it overly sweet. I used red bell pepper because I didn't have a green one. This is an okay recipe, but it seemed rather bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States