Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Cut back the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Too sweet for what I consider to be a "classic" macaroni salad but it is all a matter of taste. The next time I make it I would only use about a third of the sugar the recipe calls for. I would also incorporate more mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Very good, I reduced the sugar to 1 Tablespoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
If you make this with a spicy mustard, like Boar's Head, it counteracts the sweetness and its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Agree with other cooks. Way too sweet but I bet with less sugar very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
makde this on a whim one morning as a side for dinner and it actually turned out really good even though i didnt have anything but brown sugar, i suggest tasting it regularly though to add various things to make it more to your liking, but easy and good for beginners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
pretty close to what Mom used to make. I use Miracle Whip instead of mayo, if for no other reason, Miracle Whip can withstand setting out little longer without worrying about spoiling in the heat of the sun on a picnic. I use little less sugar, 1/2 cup is good. Substitute only one tablespoon of prepared horseradish instead of mustard. I also like little more celery, some frozen peas go well in this salad, and maybe some canned meat like Turkey Spam or some other. Adding the meat can make this dish a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Wanted to try a different pasta for Sunday get togethers with my family and this looked great. Had it with baked ham,potato salad and green salad and everyone seemed to like it.i loved it.the sauce was sweet but creamy and still tasted great the next day. Halved the recipe and added a little chopped cucumber and chopped boiled eggs too as some previous people suggested. I will def be making this again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Yummy! The whole family loves this salad. Have make it three times, easy to make, and tastier the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. I wasn't sure at first but after refrigerating it all the flavors came together. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States