Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Really liked this recipe for macaroni salad. I followed a few of the other reviewers' tips: cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and used 1/2 TB less mustard. I also added some frozen mixed veggies, shredded cheddar cheese, and bacon bits - my family loved it! The following day, I added some tuna and served it over some Romaine lettuce, and it made a nice little lunch :) I could never really find a good recipe for a classic macaroni salad (without all the fancy ingredients or things I didn't have on hand), but this one is a keeper! Next, I'll try it for a potato salad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Super easy and really good whole family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn5676

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I prepare a very similar recipe all the time, especially in summer months, and it is always a hit with family and friends. I add cheddar cheese, cut into small cubes, and normally do not add onion or carrots (as a personal choice). Other than that, recipe is the same!!! I do find that on the 2nd or 3rd day, if there's any left, you have to add a bit more mayonnaise to keep it moist!! If you haven't tried this one, it's definitely one to add to the top of your list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This tasted like how a true macaroni salad should taste. I should add though, I found the "dressing" mixture to be a little on the thin side. I'm used to a thicker coating on my macaroni salad. I'm guessing this is because of the lower fat mayo I used, but it could be that plus the combo of vinegar that thinned things out. I'll probably never buy full fat mayo, so there's no way for me to confirm this. But just thought I'd mention it in case others are also intending on using low fat mayo. Other than that, this was spot on in taste and appearance. Thanks for sharing! And with any cold starchy salad (macaroni, potato, etc), leaving it in the fridge to firm up is a must. It makes all the difference and it also gives the flavours a chance to come through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I liked this recipe, but I'm not a fan of a strong mayonnaise taste. My husband on the other hand is and he did not like this recipe as much as other macaroni salads. He did say it tasted better on the second day than on the first. I however thought it was one of the best ones I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I really liked this recipe!! Only reason i rated a 4 is bc it would b way too sweet with that amount lf sugar. I cut the sugar in half and its perfect. When u first taste it it still tastes really sweet. But a few hours in the fridge and it tastes just right. Otherwise, this recipe is amazing! I brought it on a camping trip and i had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Arkansas, USA
Photo by sharvana
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I was looking for a classic macaroni salad, but updated from the one my mom used to make. This was delicious. However, I used Dijon mustard in place of the yellow, rice wine vinegar, and added hard boiled eggs. Sprinkled with paprika. I brought this to a barbecue and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I loved this salad. I always seem to "tweak" recipes, so my changes are not a negative reflection of the original recipe. I omitted the pimento and substituted some red bell pepper. Also added a couple of chopped hard boiled eggs and the real "kicker" came from a jalapeno that I had on hand. Absolutely loved the addition of the jalapeno pepper. This was so good, that I'm making it again to take to a high school graduation party. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Oh dear me. This was phenomenal and I found it quite difficult to stop eating. I halved the recipe, and since I didn't have any pepper, omitted it. I also added two chopped hard-boiled eggs, because that's the way my mom always made macaroni salad, and---what can I say?---I love it that way. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
please cut the sugar in less then half..its ridiculously sweet...use two cups of uncooked macaroni...I added shredded crab and fresh parsly...just a hint..when your macaroni is cooked rinse in hot water then in cold water.,,you will see a big difference if you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States