Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I really liked this recipe!! Only reason i rated a 4 is bc it would b way too sweet with that amount lf sugar. I cut the sugar in half and its perfect. When u first taste it it still tastes really sweet. But a few hours in the fridge and it tastes just right. Otherwise, this recipe is amazing! I brought it on a camping trip and i had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Arkansas, USA
Photo by sharvana
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I was looking for a classic macaroni salad, but updated from the one my mom used to make. This was delicious. However, I used Dijon mustard in place of the yellow, rice wine vinegar, and added hard boiled eggs. Sprinkled with paprika. I brought this to a barbecue and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I loved this salad. I always seem to "tweak" recipes, so my changes are not a negative reflection of the original recipe. I omitted the pimento and substituted some red bell pepper. Also added a couple of chopped hard boiled eggs and the real "kicker" came from a jalapeno that I had on hand. Absolutely loved the addition of the jalapeno pepper. This was so good, that I'm making it again to take to a high school graduation party. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Oh dear me. This was phenomenal and I found it quite difficult to stop eating. I halved the recipe, and since I didn't have any pepper, omitted it. I also added two chopped hard-boiled eggs, because that's the way my mom always made macaroni salad, and---what can I say?---I love it that way. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
please cut the sugar in less then half..its ridiculously sweet...use two cups of uncooked macaroni...I added shredded crab and fresh parsly...just a hint..when your macaroni is cooked rinse in hot water then in cold water.,,you will see a big difference if you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This macaroni salad was so good we didn't even wait to refrigerate it before eating. Then, immediately after breakfast this morning we ate more. I reduced the mayo and sugar (also used organic cane sugar)just slightly but followed everything else exactly. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Fantastic my first time ever trying to do a macaroni salad. I too added boiled eggs. I did not add celery. Only problem ( NOT WITH SALAD) the adjustment chart diode not allow for smaller serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This is wonderful! This makes a huge salad so look out! I cut down the sugar to 1/3 cup, added pimentos and about 1/2 cup of chopped cheddar cheese (very small chunks, about 1/4"). The salad complemented a Thai Red Curry dish I served for dinner. Plenty of salad left over, which I don't mind a bit!!! This recipe is so simple and definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing Graden!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I don't cook much and have never made a macaroni salad before. After finding this recipe it sounded easy enough and I wouldn't have to go to the store for anything. I cut the serving size down to 4 since 10 would be way too much for my little family. I added 5 grape tomatoes sliced up and cubed cheddar cheese. Everything else was as the recipe states for serving 4 people. My kids are pretty picky as they are 1 and 4, but they ate some of it. My husband thought it was one of the best things I've made and I myself thought it was pretty yummy. I did think the sugar content was a little too much, so maybe I'd cut that back next time. Otherwise, this recipe was really good. We even had left overs after dinner which is good because I'd definitely eat it again. Thanks for this quick and easy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This recipe tastes great but be advised it makes a lot of macaroni salad, and you can't freeze it. May want to consider cutting the quantities in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States