Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This has become my families favorite macaroni salad. It is easy to whip up quickly and is very tasty. As others mention, the published recipe is very sweet. So now, I cut the sugar in half and use cider vinegar. Other than that, I follow recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I made as is minus the pimento. It was great! Got lots of compliments! Be sure to chop the veggies small and make the night before to mellow the onion and meld the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I made this and the taste was good, but the dressing was runny!! It didn't tighten up like I hoped, it was in my fridge for about 10 hours before serving. Any suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I thought this recipe was awesome! I had about 2 cups of elbow macaroni and 2 1/2 cups left of rotini and decided to make this. I made additional adjustments to the sauce: I used a little less than 1/2 cup of the sugar, added 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar, 1 1/2 tbsp of sweet relish, 1 tbsp of lemon juice, 1/2 tsp of dill, 1 tsp of celery seeds and stirred the sauce with all the other ingredients listed. It was delicious! Creamy and tangy, with just the right amount of sweet! Definitely a keeper! Thank you Graden for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hthomas
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This was a great salad! I also used less sugar as well as less bell pepper. Lastly, I added seasoned salt instead of regular table salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RuthAnn
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Nearly forgot the sugar which made it way too vinegary - however, only added about 1/4 -1/3 cup of sugar and found that provided sufficient counter-balance to the vinegar. Basic macaroni salad with lots of potential for changing it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I liked it. I only added 1/3 c sugar because 2/3 seemed like too much. I left out celery because I don't like it and pimentos because I didn't have any. Next time I think I'll only add 1/4 c sugar since it was really sweet. I also added more miracle whip than 1 c, 2 chopped cucumbers and can of drained corn. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marmoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have never made macaroni salad---but this recipe has changed that. My only suggestion is to reduce the sugar by two thirds. Exceptional taste and looks good with any barbecued food. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I cut the sugar to 2 TBSP, otherwise didn't touch a thing, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Marine
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I added the vinegar from my peppercini jar which gave it a great flavor! Then I also added 1/2 c cubed cheddar cheese & 20 sliced Best Maid pickles w/Sea salt (diced) Delicious, this is defiantly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States