Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this and never added sugar, just added this and that not as much of this and just added what I thought,and it turned out good any ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I halved the recipe and wish I had eliminated the sugar or used just a teaspoon. I also halved the vinegar and it was also too much. After taste testing the sauce I ended up pouring half of it through a strainer in order to save the chopped veggies and added more mayo, mustard and seasonings. I pretty much started over. I'll have to see how it tastes after it sits for a few hours and marinates in the fridge. I like trying new recipes and experimenting. You never know till you try...and I'll try something different next time. Lola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The ONLY change I make when preparing this perfect macaroni salad is that I vary the pasta. Today, I used bow ties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I am giving it 5 stars because this is the classic recipe for mac salad, but it has way too much sugar. I have been making this for so long I do the "pinch" method and add what is probably around two tablespoons or so. I just eyeball it. I want just enough sweetness to work w/the tart of the vinegar. I do love JqSmith's idea of making the dressing a day ahead of time for the flavors to meld and then adding it to the pasta the next day. From now on that is how I will do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Less sugar - or none. Also added green pepper and hard boiled eggs to make it more 'classic'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made it exactly as is and it's perfect, also made it with Apple cider vinegar and cut sugar in half and it's still amazing. I use a dicer to chop some celery, carrots and onion. Passed this on to more than a few people already and the requests keep coming every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe looked really good except the sugar and vinegar amounts. So I only used about 1 TBS of each and changed the celery to seedless cucumbers and used about half the onion. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
My husband really liked this recipe and so did I. It was so good that I adapted it to Cole slaw, using cabbage, carrots and green pepper plus the dressing ingredients. The sweetness is what my husband liked. I have substituted Splenda for the sugar on occasion. I did cut the recipe in half which seems more than enough for a large dish. Maybe if you are preparing for a party or large family, you might want to prepare the whole quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This just looks so good I have to make it for our church pot luck on the 6th of June
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Delicious & Simple! After reading the reviews, I only added 1/2 C sugar, because I couldn't risk it being ruined. Turns out, 1/2 C was perfect! I added onion, peppers, and cucumbers. I omitted the celery, pimentos, and carrots because I didn't have any. Feel free to get creative with the veggies/extras. This recipe seems like it is very forgiving! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States