Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is a salad I will add to my favorite collection. My daughter loves this salad. So easy to make with a sweet taste. It is an easy recipe to make and take to a pot luck dinner. I used medium shell pasta because I love the way the sauce gets caught in the crevices of the pasta-yum! I did cut back on the mustard and only used less than a Tablespoon and I used 1/2 cup of onions only because the onion I had was a very strong tasting onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I am not a big fan of macaroni salad, but after making this recipe (for my husband) I fell in love with it. The dressing gives it a nice tangy taste that is even good, maybe better the next day. I also cut back on the sugar (1/4 cup) and found it to be perfect. Super fast and easy too - always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love macaroni salad but I also add red peppers and dice pieces of Oscar Mayer smoked ham for flavor and color. It's really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Much too sweet for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
A tad bit on the dry side, so I added some additional mayo. Otherwise, it totally reminds me of the macaroni salad my grandmother made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I should have read the reviews- 2/3 cup of sugar was way too sweet. I added garlic powder and paprika also. I also added a couple jalapenos (we like spicy food) instead of green pepper. I added the shredded carrots. I will make this again, just using less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I'm pretty sure my fiancé proposed to me because of this recipe. I also have made some changes but as a base recipe it is phenomenal! I am not one to cook but this has become my go to. Excellent job thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
It was different than other macaroni salad I've had. Definitely on the sweet side. Almost tasted like a honey mustard sauce in it. I followed directions exactly with the exception of adding cheese and it got good reviews so I would make again possibly adding ham next time as I think it would compliment the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great base for a recipe! I also made many changes: I used half mayo, half miracle whip for a total of 1.5 cups, 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, 1/4 cup sugar, 1 Tbsp. mustard and 1 tsp. each garlic powder, season salt and pepper. Used 4 veggies: 1 red and 1 yellow bell pepper, 2 carrots, and 2 stalks celery. I also added 8 slices cooked chopped bacon. Made this for a work party and it was gone in 5 minutes!!! With these changes everyone said it was the best pasta salad they ever had, 9 people asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States