Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have never made macaroni salad---but this recipe has changed that. My only suggestion is to reduce the sugar by two thirds. Exceptional taste and looks good with any barbecued food. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I cut the sugar to 2 TBSP, otherwise didn't touch a thing, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Marine
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I added the vinegar from my peppercini jar which gave it a great flavor! Then I also added 1/2 c cubed cheddar cheese & 20 sliced Best Maid pickles w/Sea salt (diced) Delicious, this is defiantly a keeper??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Awesome recipe, some people believe it or not do not know the difference between Mayonnaise and (Yuck) Miracle Whip which is already sweet - If you us use real mayonnaise the recipe is perfection !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this and never added sugar, just added this and that not as much of this and just added what I thought,and it turned out good any ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I halved the recipe and wish I had eliminated the sugar or used just a teaspoon. I also halved the vinegar and it was also too much. After taste testing the sauce I ended up pouring half of it through a strainer in order to save the chopped veggies and added more mayo, mustard and seasonings. I pretty much started over. I'll have to see how it tastes after it sits for a few hours and marinates in the fridge. I like trying new recipes and experimenting. You never know till you try...and I'll try something different next time. Lola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The ONLY change I make when preparing this perfect macaroni salad is that I vary the pasta. Today, I used bow ties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I am giving it 5 stars because this is the classic recipe for mac salad, but it has way too much sugar. I have been making this for so long I do the "pinch" method and add what is probably around two tablespoons or so. I just eyeball it. I want just enough sweetness to work w/the tart of the vinegar. I do love JqSmith's idea of making the dressing a day ahead of time for the flavors to meld and then adding it to the pasta the next day. From now on that is how I will do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Less sugar - or none. Also added green pepper and hard boiled eggs to make it more 'classic'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made it exactly as is and it's perfect, also made it with Apple cider vinegar and cut sugar in half and it's still amazing. I use a dicer to chop some celery, carrots and onion. Passed this on to more than a few people already and the requests keep coming every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States