Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Made this exactly as directed and found it to be not at all too sweet. I have switched from using the elbow macaroni to a whole 16 oz box of rotini and the amount of sauce is still enough. I have found that making the sauce the day before and then adding it to the chilled macaroni just before serving makes a creamier salad and it isn't absorbed by the pasta. Love it love it love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1598 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I am rating this recipe 5 stars because the basis for the dressing is SO good!! I did make some changes, but I think it is just a very versatile recipe. I used miracle whip instead of mayo, apple cider vinegar instead of white and half the sugar called for. I used white onion (I didn't have any red ones, although I would have preferred that!!) and some cold left over frozen sweet peas as the ones in the can would be too mushy. I used cucumber, and chopped boiled egg. I made this at the last minute, as we decided to grill burgers on our grill, even though we are thigh deep in snow! Hahah!! It was great even after 45 minutes in the fridge, but it was creamy. We ate leftovers for lunch today and loved it even more! Will definitely make again. I have a family of 5 and by cutting the recipe in half, we didn't have too much leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a great recipe. Like others, I added 3 hard-boiled eggs. I cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup and the vinegar by half. I then added 2 and 1/2 tablespoons of sweet pickle relish and 1 teaspoon of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
851 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Great macaroni salad and definitely classic picnic food! Everyone has their own take on these types of things and I adjusted this to my own taste preferences as well. I used lite mayo and cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup. I used 2 Tbsp. of mustard, one yellow and one dijon and next time I might cut back on that just a bit. I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder and 4 hard boiled eggs. I left out the green pepper and used a bunch of chopped green onions. I did add the carrots and a 5 oz. jar of drained and chopped green olives with pimento peppers. This reminds me a lot of what my Grandma used to make every summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Used only ¼ cup of sugar…that was plenty. Also added a decent amount of paprika and garlic powder. Also, I would recommend using the diced pimentos- they really add a lot of flavor and color. Be sure to refrigerate overnight, it is much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
i think the dressing is fantastic. it's a little sweet, a little zingy from the vinegar, a little mustardy, it all blends well. i truly love it... just not on macaroni. i think the dressing would be a star on potatoes... to make potato salad. also, next time i'll just add a splash of vinegar because it made my dressing runny rather than creamy. --- UPDATE --- i tried the dressing again with potatoes and it was heavenly! all i did was decrease the sugar portion to about half a cup... yum yum. (just a note - after a day, the sweetness cuts down.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I have a recipe similar to this one. My only calls for 1 Tblsp mustard and no peppers. My family loves it and requests it for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Made the recipe to a T with only change addition of small amount of relish. It was awesome!! Will make again and again! Thank you for sharing! Just wanted to add, my husband who before now "hates macaroni salad" now insists that I have this made on hand in the fridge at ALL times... thanks again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Looks really yellow but is the best salad ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Well I went ahead and made this according to the author after reading the reviews saying it was to sweet because I tend to like savory things sweetened a little. This was disgustingly sweet to the point of tasting like it was a macaroni dessert. Everything else was ok but the dish was ruined due to the sugar content. I'd start with a few tablespoons maybe up to 1/4 of a cup but the original amount was WAY to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States