Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
the dressing made the salad really tasty..received many good comments from the family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Bass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Looks really yellow but is the best salad ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I have a recipe similar to this one. My only calls for 1 Tblsp mustard and no peppers. My family loves it and requests it for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I made this today but added little cubes of ham and also american cheese. Turned out really good! Definitely is a sweeter macaroni salad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe for mac salad. I spent 10 years in Hawaii and ever since have looked for a mac recipe like the ones I found at the local lunch counter. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Preston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
YUMMY!!!! I added a bit more than 1/3 cup sugar and was still sweet enough. Also used peas instead of peppers and added cubed cheddar. Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This is the best that I have made so far. I did cut back on the sugar and prepared mustard by nearly half; otherwise, I think it would have been way too sweet for our family. I cut-back on the mustard because I did not want a "yellow-looking" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
As written, I thought this recipe had far too much sugar -- I cut it down by more than half. Otherwise, I thought it was delicious. Instead of prepared mustard (which I don't much care for) I used Dijon mustard, and it was really nice. It wasn't 'yellow', and I think it gives a nicer flavour. Because I'm not too fond of raw onion generally, I think that next time I'll try it with pickled onions. I liked that the dressing wasn't too heavy, unlike most pasta salad dressings I've tried. Thanks! (Oh yeah, my boyfriend loved it! And he's the "pasta salad" connoisseur... lol)___ Update: I omitted the onions altogether this time, but used 1 each of a red and green pepper, the celery and grated carrot, and I added beets. Delicious!! And soooo pretty! (Note: I didn't use pickled beets -- I buy fresh beets and then roast them in foil in the oven for about an hour at 350. When they cool, I peel them and slice them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe! Although I cut sugar by half and omitted mustard, I ate the whole salad within two days.."It was the best I ever had"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Made this exactly as directed and found it to be not at all too sweet. I have switched from using the elbow macaroni to a whole 16 oz box of rotini and the amount of sauce is still enough. I have found that making the sauce the day before and then adding it to the chilled macaroni just before serving makes a creamier salad and it isn't absorbed by the pasta. Love it love it love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1598 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States