Classic Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made this and never added sugar, just added this and that not as much of this and just added what I thought,and it turned out good any ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I halved the recipe and wish I had eliminated the sugar or used just a teaspoon. I also halved the vinegar and it was also too much. After taste testing the sauce I ended up pouring half of it through a strainer in order to save the chopped veggies and added more mayo, mustard and seasonings. I pretty much started over. I'll have to see how it tastes after it sits for a few hours and marinates in the fridge. I like trying new recipes and experimenting. You never know till you try...and I'll try something different next time. Lola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The ONLY change I make when preparing this perfect macaroni salad is that I vary the pasta. Today, I used bow ties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I am giving it 5 stars because this is the classic recipe for mac salad, but it has way too much sugar. I have been making this for so long I do the "pinch" method and add what is probably around two tablespoons or so. I just eyeball it. I want just enough sweetness to work w/the tart of the vinegar. I do love JqSmith's idea of making the dressing a day ahead of time for the flavors to meld and then adding it to the pasta the next day. From now on that is how I will do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Less sugar - or none. Also added green pepper and hard boiled eggs to make it more 'classic'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made it exactly as is and it's perfect, also made it with Apple cider vinegar and cut sugar in half and it's still amazing. I use a dicer to chop some celery, carrots and onion. Passed this on to more than a few people already and the requests keep coming every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe looked really good except the sugar and vinegar amounts. So I only used about 1 TBS of each and changed the celery to seedless cucumbers and used about half the onion. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
My husband really liked this recipe and so did I. It was so good that I adapted it to Cole slaw, using cabbage, carrots and green pepper plus the dressing ingredients. The sweetness is what my husband liked. I have substituted Splenda for the sugar on occasion. I did cut the recipe in half which seems more than enough for a large dish. Maybe if you are preparing for a party or large family, you might want to prepare the whole quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This just looks so good I have to make it for our church pot luck on the 6th of June
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Delicious & Simple! After reading the reviews, I only added 1/2 C sugar, because I couldn't risk it being ruined. Turns out, 1/2 C was perfect! I added onion, peppers, and cucumbers. I omitted the celery, pimentos, and carrots because I didn't have any. Feel free to get creative with the veggies/extras. This recipe seems like it is very forgiving! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States