Classic Macaroni Salad with Real Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I made this for Father's Day and it turned out great. I used two boxes of Tri-colored pasta instead of the elbow macaroni. I had to increase all the ingredients a little bit because of he amount of pasta. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
We LOVE this simple macaroni salad! 9 times out of 10, when I make macaroni salad this is the recipe I use. I do have to say that I don't always have 'Dijonnaise' on hand, so I'll just sub dijon mustard. Depending ob my mood, I may even add some hard boiled eggs from time to time. Great, reliable, 'classic' recipe~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe was very good. I tried it out to see how many it would serve. Each serving would equate to 1 cup per serving. I could only get 4 cups packed. Heidi I would like to know how much egg you put in our recipe and was it just the egg white? Start asking the recipe submitters to suggest the serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The dressing on this is very creamy. I also added 1/3 c milk to keep it moist, and modified with other goodies I had in the house, shreaded cheese, egg, diced ham... couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This is a 5-star macaroni salad! Have been making it for years either as a side dish with hamburgers, hotdogs or ribs or as a lunch salad with crab meat and halved or quartered cherry tomatoes added. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The name of this recipe is perfect...this is truly a classic macaroni salad! I personally do not care for elbow macaroni as I feel they get too mushy after cooking and mixing, so I substituted a 12 oz. box of bow tie pasta. Everything else I followed perfectly, however, after tasting, I added about a 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon more sugar. All in all, a wonderful recipe that can be tweaked in many ways to suit your personal taste. 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I really liked the dressing for this macaroni salad! It was the right balance of ingredients. It was not too thick or too sweet like a lot of recipes. I also doubled the recipe, because 5 servings would have not worked for a bbq and it fit nicely in a medium sized bowl. Besides, macaroni normally comes in 16oz boxes. However, the children who ate it, picked out the green vegetables. I am giving it high rating because the dressing was perfect! If I make again, I am going to change the added ingredients that appeal to more people at a bbq such as eggs and shredded cheese. I might even try a bag of frozen defrosted peas and carrots to give this macaroni salad some needed color. I will have to look up some ideas though. But, I would keep the dressing as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
this is awesome, I added a can of well drained solid white tuna, broken up in chunks and skipped the sugar,, I had so many requests at the cookout, if made me feel great, thanks for the 5 star recipes :) bonney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States