Classic Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This lasagna was phenomenal. I've been looking for a good standard lasagna recipe because I am 33 weeks pregnant and would like to start making meals to freeze. This fit the bill perfectly! My in-laws came over and kept raving about it. I just made a few changes, mostly based on other reviewer suggestions. I only used 2 cans of tomato sauce and 1 can tomato paste. I also used minced fresh garlic and kosher salt in place of the garlic salt. Since I didn't have oregano and basil, I used Italian seasoning and also a little cayenne pepper to give it just a little bit of a kick. I also used oven-ready, no-bake noodles for the ease. Finally, I covered it with foil while it baked until the last 15-20 minutes. Also, I baked it for 65 minutes and it came out perfect. I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was soooo good! We used 3 pkgs of sliced mushrooms and cooked them in butter, garlic and wine until soft and yummy. I also carmelized 1 1/2 onions and layered that over one of the meat mixtures. We had company for dinner and we all thought it was the best lasagne ever. I followed previous suggestions and used 21 oz of ricotta and cooked for 30 min. @ 350 covreed and the remaining 30 min. uncovered. It slices like a dream, looks great and was truly the best lasagne I have ever had!! Thank you so much Barb R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guerneville, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We made this for a big family gathering and it was a huge hit. To cut down on the amount of meat used, we omitted the ground beef and chopped up kidney beans in the food processor. No one was the wiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peckham, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made a few changes to this recipe. I used crushed tomatoes instead of two of the cans of tomato sauce. I also mixed in about a half of a small container of cottage cheese to the ricotta mixture and used a little less mozzarella and then substituted colby/monterey jack for the rest. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Don't cook the full 90 mins. 40-45 mins. was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Love it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My first attempt at making lasagna. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Wow this was a bit different from the traditional lasagna i am used to but this reminded me of the lasagna that my grandmother used to make for us a long time ago. This is definitely a favorite recipe of mine. I will continue making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghofer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is very good - but - does anyone believe the prerp times on these recipes? This one says 15 minutes prep time, and then tells you to simmer the tomato mix for 30 minutes. Not to mention the cleaning, chopping, etc. My critique is that far too much tomato sauce is called for, and as others have said, 90 minutes baking time is a good 15 minutes too long. Also, am I the only one who did not know there is now pre-cooked lasagna pasta on the market?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States