Classic Irish Boiled Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is how I've made my boiled dinner for years (even with my Irish background, I never cared for corned beef). However I don't add green beans and I always get a big smoked shoulder (arox 9 lbs). Remove any wrapping around the ham, put it into a pot (make sure it fits), put enough water into the pot to completly cover the ham, cover with lid. Bring to a good boil, and boil for one hour, turn it over in the pot, cover with lid and boil another hour. Remove the meat (keep the liquid), cover ham with foil and let it rest. Now put the potatoes, onions, carrotts, and cabbage (cabbage should be on top) also (if you like turnip you can add that too) into the liquid the meat was cooked in, this is where the flavor is, cook till veggies and potatoes are tender. PS if you need to you can add more water as you go, but only do this if it is needed. Also I don't add any salt there's enough salt in the smoked shoulder. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fantastic!! What a rush of childhood memories of my grandmother's kitchen. The ONLY substitution I made was to use a Cottage Ham - a 'partially cooked' pork shoulder. To be totally true to my family version, the cottage ham or pork shoulder should contain gobs of fat. The fat adds so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan2851

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is a really easy dinner to put together. Not much to it but waiting on it to be done. I usually use a pre-seasoned pork shoulder for this, but it always comes out really TENDER! I've never had room for all the vegetables, so I always omit the cabbage and add in whatever I like until the pot is virtually overflowing. Perfect meal every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is best made with a half ham. The first time I made it to these directions and it was VERY bland! I made it a second time with a half ham, and it was much, much, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I didn't really care for the green beans in this and the cabbage and potatoes were just too different in texture to really enjoy it. The smoked meat was delicious and it made some amazing gravy with drippings, but I didn't really care for the smoky flavor in the vegetables. This was the first time I'd cooked onions in quarters and I will definately be doing that more often! Thank you for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I too grew up eating this Boiled Dinner, except it was in a totally French Canadian household. My parents would have us kids clean the green beans because there would be at least 6 pounds of them. We also add salt pork which gives the green beans a really rich taste. The leftovers are too die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I really, really wanted to love this recipe. I thought it was only good. Not great and not bad, just okay. It lacked flavor for me. Maybe knowing how much salt and pepper others used would have helped. I used 1.5 tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper. Used the same of everything else, except half a cabbage as that is all I could fit in the broth/pot. I doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Turned out great the first time - we used a non-smoked pork shoulder straight from Freddies' meat case; it was a good drop-and-go meal, and provided not only meat for DAYS for the two of us, but a huge ham bone that I made split pea and ham out of. All in all, it was delicious, and even the BF (who isn't a huge fan of pork) said that the meat was tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Just as I remember only minus the green beans. The best part for me is drowning the entire plate with apple cider vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
just like home!!! forgot to add, the rutabagas (or as we say rugabugas, lol) are good, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States