Classic Irish Boiled Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is exactly what me muther made for us and me dear old Grandmother who just happened to be from the old sod! She told us a story about why the smoked shoulder or smoked butt was really used. It was because the wealthy Blatherskite Englishmen jacked up the price of beef! Which made her really mad because she used to have her own flock back in a day, and she would watch them at night and play her squeeze box and sing to them...ahhhh the memories thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTKATT521

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I've grown up eating boiled dinner, even drank the broth in a cup along side my dinner! Of all Irish meals, this is the tastiest!! A way to free up room in the pot is a pressure cooker. I usually cook two cottage rolls under pressure for a half hour. If its not cooked through using my meat thermometer I cook it for another 20 minutes. Then I remove the hams, put them in a pot with a fair amount of juice and keep them in a warm oven. Then into the pressure cooker goes the potatoes, carrots and turnip. Ohhh, take out some juice to add to the cabbage that will boil in another pot. Just fill the cabbage pot 2/3 up then add water. Now back to the pressure cooker, add more water depending on how much veg you have and cook under pressure for approx. 12-15 mins!!! I need boiled dinner now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I agree with magicshark. We grew up calling this New England Boiled Dinner. Always used a smoked shoulder but did not put green beans in it. The leftovers were indeed made into "red flannel hash" and the bone and broth were then used for bean soup. What memories! I still make it for special family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
My dad made this, but would use both corned beef and smoked shoulder. Oh, and he would toss in a length of linguica(Portuguese sausage). It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe must be related to what we fondly called "Boiled Dinner" in our family for as long as I can remember. It was brought to our Northwestern Ontario home from New Brunswick by my mother, who claims it was a popular dish in her home. Descended from Irish immigrants, her family made it using salt pork ribs (like the entry from the person in Nova Scotia). In our family, we use pork side ribs instead, and have added turnip, a stick of celery, and fresh-picked garden herbs (thyme, parsley, oregano, rosemary). While the water, ribs, onion, celery and store-bought turnip are starting to boil, I head out to the garden to harvest and add (in order) potatoes, carrots, beans, peas (if any left uneaten by this time), fresh herbs. YUMMY! Fondest memories of this dish are "harvest meals" near end of each summer and most comforting was showing up unannounced in New Brunswick for my grandfather's funeral. Though no one knew I was coming there was an extra plate at the table and a huge pot of "boiled dinner" on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Great, very tasty. I added whole cloves and Goya seasoning. And cooked for 3 hrs. Adding the veggies during the last 30mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great, easy, homey recipe! We used a ham cut into chunks & chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I didn't have a smoked pork - just regular, but I wanted to try this anyway. I didn't add the cabbage or beans. My pot wasn't big enough and I had a different recipe for cabbage anyway. To add more flavor I boiled the pork, potatoes, and carrots in chicken stock. Wow! The meat came out tender and the vegetables were so good! My husband loved the way my yukon potatoes turned out so much that I made him more with the leftover broth the next night. I will definitely be using this method again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Large pot is an understatement. I changed pots twice, finally settling on a 12 quart pot. I couldn't find a smoked pork shoulder, so I used an unsmoked one and added two smoked pork hocks for flavor. I did add a few beef and chicken bouillion cubes to the cooking water for a little extra flavor. This was delicious - rustic and simple. I served it with Brennan's Irish Soda Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I grew up on this...I make it but I use brisket instead, and I cook the brisket in water the night before and then when I am ready to add the veggies , I skim off most of the fat...we love it this way..nice and healthy ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States