Classic Holiday Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I missed out this year on traditional store-bought dairy Egg Nog, which I love without the alcohol – Thank you! So, I thought I would give this recipe a try, due to its simplicity. Like all, I did make modifications to suit my needs. I deleted the salt from the recipe as I try to hold down sodium content in my food. Also, for even more simplicity, I substituted ½ cup of Original Egg Beaters for the eggs. I was very happy with the result. It was very fresh and very cold and now I can have "egg nog" whenever I want. You can add salt, nutmeg and booze to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Retains too much of the sweetened condensed milk's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is very yummy! The one to use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
As others have said, this is a simple basic recipe, but made it because store-bought is so full of sugar. Threw everything in a blender. I substituted 2 Cups of whipping cream for 2 cups of the quart of milk, used twice the vanilla, and added a teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves. I also used regular unsweetened lowfat canned milk and added 1/4 Cup Splenda. I also used pasturized liquid eggs (Egg Beaters) instead of eggs for safety. Yummy nog and can be easily spiked, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is a terrific and simple base recipe! A big thanks to the poster. I made eggnog a long time ago from another recipe and hated it. I went back to the store bought stuff until today. It's Particularly nice if you don't want to make a lot. I did modify it some. I used 1/2 whipping cream and 1/2 milk because I wanted it to be creamy. I added cloves and nutmeg to taste (for me that ended up being 1 1/2 t nutmeg and 1 t cloves. I also increased the vanilla. I increase the vanilla on any recipe I try that contains it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was very good and simple. My family loves egg nog, but I have always been a bit scared to make it. It definately needed a bit of nutmeg to get the traditional taste, but was a very good starter. I made two seperate batches one for the kids, and one with a bit of "cheer" for the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
i love it i have never made egg nog before and so far this is the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel
Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Fantastic recipe. But me and my wife like to add a fifth of Traveler's Club vodka to the batch. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Make sure the eggs are THOROUGHLY beaten before adding to any milk. I use a small food processor/food chopper. And I eat them to a light yellow color so all the white is well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States