Classic Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Super easy and tasty! I think the cayenne & paprika are optional. They tasted great with just salt & pepper. I didn't shred mine. Instead, I diced them up real small. They took longer though. (About 30-35 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Excellent! As per one review, I used my salad spinner for rinsing and drying the potatoes. Worked great, and the hash downs were seasoned just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Never even thought to attemp hash browns but these were delicious I tested it out before making for family. One small potato a tsp of light can't believe it's not butter and salt and pepper it was amazing!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
After viewing the video I couldn't wait to try these. I am an admitted lousy breakfast cook, but still I try. Well today I made these hash browns with bacon & eggs, and man-o-man, my dear husband loved these. He remarked several times how good they were. Loved the tip about putting in water and rinsing and patting dry. These are things I have never done with my potatoes. I will be having these again. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
instead of adding salt, cayenne, salt and paprika I added salt and butter after I was done cooking and it was amazing and mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
A great classic dish - delicious! I made more potatoes than what the recipe called for, but increased the other ingredients proportionately. I used a LOT of potatoes, but they really do shrink up when you cook them, so I could have made even more than I did, I will have to remember that for next time. Like other reviewers have pointed out, the cooking time is definitely longer than listed here, but that could partially be because I used more potatoes. Basically, just keep cooking until they get to the crispiness you like... and the seasonings can really be adjusted to personal taste too, this is a great recipe, you really can't mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I made this recipe and the only thing I did different was I layed the shredded potatoes long ways in a clean dish towel and twisted it at both ends to get all of the water out.it helps if you have someone at the other end of the towel this way you can twist it a little more.I have been cooking since I was 7 years and at 13 I worked in a cafe on the Redondo Beach Ca. pier.That was 55 years ago and I still love to cook for everyone. Roy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Super tasty! Just like I get at my favorite diner down the street. I usually stick to frozen hash browns at home but I had a couple of extra potatoes on hand and wanted to try my hand at these. They were much easier to make than I would have thought, and the taste was definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Yum, I just made these not long ago and this is now one of my favourite recipes for hash browns, not overly complicated or finicky to cook. I couldn't be bothered clarifying my butter first, I just made sure to be careful so it wouldn't burn. I used some nice red skinned potatoes so I kept the skin on because I like it. The only problem I had was I picked a rather old and worn non-stick pan to cook them in so the potato stuck like no tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe....never made homemade hash browns beforeand this will NOW be my go to recipe...I trust ever recipe that Chef John has put up...thanks John for such a great and oh so easy recipe. The only thing that I changed is that I only seasoned with kosher salt & white pepper and chopped green onions, as that is what I had on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States