Classic Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great method for cooking hash browns. I grated the potatoes into my salad spinner full of cold water - used that to triple rinse the potatoes and then drained them and spun the water out. The clarified butter is perfect for these as it can cook at a higher temperature than whole butter. I used a cast iron pan and don't flip or stir until you get a nice crisp bottom - then flip and stir and crisp up the rest. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I watched Chef John's video on this recipe & realized that my fresh taters always turned brown. I had given up on using fresh potatoes for hash browns & had turned to frozen. I used my food processor to grate an entire big yellow onion. Next I grated 8 russets & added that to the onion. Yum - I kept flipping these to make sure all of it turned brown & yummy! Rinsing potatoes in cold water, like rice. Who knew! Love that I learn something new all the time on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I cooked them longer than the recipe calls for because i like my hash browns crunchy. Easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Very good. A tip that I learned long ago is to press the shredded potatoes in a potato ricer, after soaking & rinsing time, while holding the ricer upside down, you're pressing a lot of water out this way. Then pat dry with paper towels. You're not going to press the raw potatoes through the ricer, you're just pressing more water out of the potatoes more efficiently. I used 1/2 shortening and half butter to fry the potatoes in, like my mother always did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
While I thought the recipe was wonderful, I found that the inside of my hash didn't cook very well at the times specified. I chose to cook it for 10 minutes and then bake it for another 10 minutes and chose to sprinkle some cheddar and mozzarella cheese on top while it baked. I served it with fluffy scrambled eggs and a little ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Worked perfect, rinsing out the starch made all the diference. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shane6884
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Yeah, i can finally make yummie hash browns, now more wasted potatoes! Mine didn't get as brown as the ones in the video, but they tasted great. (And even better with a little ketchup.) Will make again. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Rinsing out the starch and squeezing the moisture out with a ricer worked great. Didn't even need to pat dry. Always wondered why my fresh hash browns got so mushy. Used canola oil and seasoned salt with great results. Thanks for your tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edina, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We liked these a lot. I accidentally got a little heavy handed with the cayenne, but this was still pretty darn good. I served this with the acapulco margarita grouper recipe on this site (but used tilapia instead) and the spiciness of the hash browns really complemented the fish dish. (I know, I know--totally bizarre pairing, but hubby wanted hash browns today, so I made them for supper --lol). We would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
very good! I didn't have paper towels to pat the potatoes dry so after draining the cold water off of them the second time I just put a bowl under the strainer with the drained potatoes in it and used a small plate to press them down some and squeeze some of the excess water off. This worked fine. I added some red and green pepper strips and onions (had a bag of frozen ones), some chopped ham and a little shredded cheddar cheese. A few minutes before they were done I poured a couple of eggs that I had previously scrambled in a bowl with a little milk over the potato, onion, ham, and peppers mixture and cooked up while mixing some and made one of those breakfast bowl type dishes, with rye toast on the side. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States