Classic Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great method for cooking hash browns. I grated the potatoes into my salad spinner full of cold water - used that to triple rinse the potatoes and then drained them and spun the water out. The clarified butter is perfect for these as it can cook at a higher temperature than whole butter. I used a cast iron pan and don't flip or stir until you get a nice crisp bottom - then flip and stir and crisp up the rest. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I watched Chef John's video on this recipe & realized that my fresh taters always turned brown. I had given up on using fresh potatoes for hash browns & had turned to frozen. I used my food processor to grate an entire big yellow onion. Next I grated 8 russets & added that to the onion. Yum - I kept flipping these to make sure all of it turned brown & yummy! Rinsing potatoes in cold water, like rice. Who knew! Love that I learn something new all the time on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I enjoyed making these, and they taste great. These classic hash browns were enjoyed by the woke family. Do to the large amount of hash browns I used a kitchen towel to obsorb the extra moisture instead if paper towels. In the future however, I think I'll stick with frozen hash brown due to the amount time required to make these. Thanks for sharing, now I know how to make hash browns in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Worked perfect, rinsing out the starch made all the diference. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shane6884
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Yeah, i can finally make yummie hash browns, now more wasted potatoes! Mine didn't get as brown as the ones in the video, but they tasted great. (And even better with a little ketchup.) Will make again. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I cooked them longer than the recipe calls for because i like my hash browns crunchy. Easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
While I thought the recipe was wonderful, I found that the inside of my hash didn't cook very well at the times specified. I chose to cook it for 10 minutes and then bake it for another 10 minutes and chose to sprinkle some cheddar and mozzarella cheese on top while it baked. I served it with fluffy scrambled eggs and a little ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I found these quite good. They definitely need to be cooked longer than the recipe states in order to get them nice and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
if you really no how to cook, this recipe is about the best way to make hash browns, cook on med. heat and your hash browns will be fantastic. brown till crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We liked these a lot. I accidentally got a little heavy handed with the cayenne, but this was still pretty darn good. I served this with the acapulco margarita grouper recipe on this site (but used tilapia instead) and the spiciness of the hash browns really complemented the fish dish. (I know, I know--totally bizarre pairing, but hubby wanted hash browns today, so I made them for supper --lol). We would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States