Classic Hamburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Gotta say that I really didn't like this. Not traditional Shepherd's Pie at all, too sweet in the meat layer, not enough proper spicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I used to make this recipe for my family years ago and have since forgotten all about it. The only small insignificant change was that I added parsley to the potatoes and spread them over the meat mixture (my kids called it green potatoes). A great cool weather dish. Brought back a lot of memories. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It's very good. I use mixed frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The adults in my family enjoyed this dish, however, the grandchildren did not (ages 5 & 7). They said it was because they didn't like the tomato soup. It takes a little prep time because of having to peel, cook, and mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Best thing ever! I've made this weekly since discovering it!! I made it a little easier by using Betty Crocker brand "Loaded Mashed" instant potatoes. It was a 5 star recipe prior to that though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My family enjoyed this. I had to sub peas for the green beans, due to a picky 7 year old. Had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this exactly as written. The only thing I didn't like was the addition of garlic to the mashed potatoes. It really never gets cooked so the potatoes had that raw garlic taste to them. Perhaps it would be better to add it to the hamburger/onion mixture and cook it instead. Overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Easy and really good. Comfort food on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anita6
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I know everyone hates when people change the recipes; but it was sooo good! ok so I used instant loaded potatoes (2 packages) added sour cream, butter, cheese, & 1/2 cup crushed up frenchs fried onion strings the mashed potatoes (just like if you were going to eat it by itself) didn't use any kind of veggie in it. I also used chucky tomato basil soup (another time I used regular tomato soup but added a can of diced tomatoes and some basil). we like spices so I added zesty seasoning (kroger brand) about 1-2 tablespoons while I simmered the meat and onions. followed all the other directions, but added 1 cup of cheese on top and sprinkled about 1/2 cup of semi crushed fried onion strings. I only cooked it for 15 mins and it was sooo yummy!! this is such a basic recipe you can change so much to fit your tastes. ive included a pic of what it looked like done. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good. We know this as shepherds pie. This was the very first thing I ever made for my husband back twenty something years ago. The rest of the family enjoys it as well. The only thing I do different is use corn in place of green beans because that's what we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States