Classic Hamburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by anita6
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I know everyone hates when people change the recipes; but it was sooo good! ok so I used instant loaded potatoes (2 packages) added sour cream, butter, cheese, & 1/2 cup crushed up frenchs fried onion strings the mashed potatoes (just like if you were going to eat it by itself) didn't use any kind of veggie in it. I also used chucky tomato basil soup (another time I used regular tomato soup but added a can of diced tomatoes and some basil). we like spices so I added zesty seasoning (kroger brand) about 1-2 tablespoons while I simmered the meat and onions. followed all the other directions, but added 1 cup of cheese on top and sprinkled about 1/2 cup of semi crushed fried onion strings. I only cooked it for 15 mins and it was sooo yummy!! this is such a basic recipe you can change so much to fit your tastes. ive included a pic of what it looked like done. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I hate when people change the recipe and then rate it but that's exactly what I'm going to do because I was i a rush and had to use what I had on hand. I kept the sauce part the same except I added about half a can of cream of mushroom soup because I didn't have another can of tomato soup and needed to make the meal go farther. Then I used cheesy instant potatoes because again I was crunched for time and that's what I had on hand. This still turned out super good. It isn't exactly pretty to look at but it's just awesome comfort food. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good. We know this as shepherds pie. This was the very first thing I ever made for my husband back twenty something years ago. The rest of the family enjoys it as well. The only thing I do different is use corn in place of green beans because that's what we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It's very good. I use mixed frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
My Family absolutely loved this recipe :) My husband and son had two servings! Thank you so much for sharing it with us! I will definitely make it again :) I loved the way the tomato soup made the meat a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Easy and really good. Comfort food on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Best thing ever! I've made this weekly since discovering it!! I made it a little easier by using Betty Crocker brand "Loaded Mashed" instant potatoes. It was a 5 star recipe prior to that though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This was what Mom called Shepherd's Pie. She varied the ingredients depending on what she had on hand--any kind of condensed soup or canned/frozen vegetables will work in the pie. Us kids always prefered it made with cream of mushroom soup and canned corn. When I make this now, I add a few spices to the "gravy", like fresh ground pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and basil or oregano. There's usually no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vickylm
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Everything was very good. I added fresh mushrooms to the meat and onions. I love casseroles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I used to make this recipe for my family years ago and have since forgotten all about it. The only small insignificant change was that I added parsley to the potatoes and spread them over the meat mixture (my kids called it green potatoes). A great cool weather dish. Brought back a lot of memories. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States