Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is not "classic" Hungarian Goulash but it is goulash or Chop Suey depending on what part of the country you grew up. For me it was western NY and we added canned corn. Made this tonight, exactly as written, for my very picky folks and we loved it; it was a taste of my childhood. Next time I'll add Jalapeno and bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
654 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is the classic goulash made in the mid-west, USA, not Hungarian Goulash. I grew up on this in Iowa, but we used Worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce, no bay leaf, and a green pepper if we had one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
606 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This one is classic AMERICAN style goulash. The picture depicts it. This is a dish that was mainstay for most of us and even served at school. @Pathunt: Nicely done! I made it just as the recipe states and enjoyed it but next time around I will add a diced green pepper to the meat as it's browning and probably a shake of garlic powder to remind me of school, and LOTS of fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckinfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Because we're on a super tight budget this week, I used only one pound ground meat (half ground beef, half ground pork) and threw in chopped veggies for the rest of the meat (red pepper, zucchini, spinach). To make a more tomato-y sauce, I used V-8 instead of water. I'm out of soy sauce so I used worchestershire instead of soy sauce. I did not need the seasoning salt--we're watching our salt intake--and I also used organic canned tomato sauce, organic canned tomatoes and homemade italian seasoning. Very economical and a good way for me to bend the recipe to add more healthy ingredients for my family nevermind it filled the bellies of my three hungry men very well. There's plenty leftover for lunch tomorrow as well, which I appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is delicious! It is near identical to a Paula Deen goulash recipe that I have been making for a few years. It is also easy to make as the noodles are added uncooked. The main difference it appears between this and that recipe of hers, that I use, is it looks like the ingredients here are doubled, so this recipe here will feed a lot! And, this recipe here uses tomato sauce and diced tomatoes and that one uses an equal amount of crushed tomatoes. Either way, Mid-western style goulash is a favorite in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
mrsjoedo mentioned something was missing, next time try adding chopped green pepper. To me it's not goulash unless you add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Being from Minnesota, I understood the term "goulash" as meaning "hot dish" as the two terms are more or less interchangable in this state! I realize there is a Hungarian goulash which is completely different, but this is a regional term that I understood to be exactly what it is! Kudos! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
First of all, every goulash doesn't have to be from Hungary. Goulash also means a mixture, jumble or hedgepodge. This recipe is definately that. This is a recipe that many, many of us grew up on which makes it a classic. I do add onions and green pepper to mine when I make it. If it is too juicy for you just add some tomato paste and be sure to drain the diced tomatoes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This made a ton..and I even cut it in half. Dinner was easy to make. I just think that the amount of seasoning is off a bit. Too salty and too much Italian Seasoning. I cut back on those to suit our taste. I also decided to cook the noodles separate, so I didn't add the extra water. Total cooking time was about 40 minutes. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
If there was a section for Comments, I would leave this message there because this is for the reviewer that gave it one star and commented that it was not really goulash. Well, it may not be goulash to you but there are thousands of us who grew up eating this and it was called goulash. It is an easy, filling, economical, tasty dish so keep your reviews to the recipe and not the name, you may not know what you are talking about. I noticed you did the same thing to a mexican dish; you said it was not authentic. This is a site to share recipes and report how it worked for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States