Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I had my own way of making goulash for years, but now that I have this recipe...I'll be making this recipe instead. It was so good! I did add green pepper because that's always in my goulash. We served this with green beans and homemade Italian Herb Bread in my bread machine. I halved the recipe because it was only going to be for my husband and I. I should have made the whole recipe because I had one helping and my husband had 3! There was just enough left over for my husband's lunch the next day. It was so good, I plan on having some friends over this weekend and will repeat the meal for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is the goulash I grew up eating and still make it often. My grown boys make it when they want comfort food. They like to eat this with Italian bread, cottage cheese and green beans for a complete meal. (I still make the Hungarian goulash as well with the gravy and paprika over wide noodles.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made up a version of this recipe and have made it since my children (now in their 40s) were small. I called it "Beefaroni" (because my son loved the canned stuff by that name) and they loved it...then and now; they both make it for their own families! I use Worcestershire sauce instead of soy, some diced bell pepper, no bay leaf and less liquid...mine is not soupy at all. I saute the macaroni with the ground beef and vegetables until it turns golden, then add the liquid. I cook until noodles are tender, normally less an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is certainly a classic. In my family we add kidney beans. Besides adding flavor, the beans have a thickening affect. Sometimes I add a southwest mix of black beans and corn and some Mexican seasoning, but I still call it goulash. Using a crock pot gives it that second day taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Macaroni soup, add mozzarella and you now have a macaroni casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Mmm Good recipe, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Taste like spaghetti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Gregory Laswell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is the goulash on which I grew up and continue to make as comfort food. However, for me it has to have bell pepper, thin sliced pepperoni and grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is a classic comfort food for my family. Eating this takes me back to childhood. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie Black
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States