Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is a great basic recipe good with any combo of ground meat - I like 1 lb. each ground turkey and pork. I only used 1 15 oz. can of tomato sauce, 28 oz can crushed tomatoes (instead of diced), otherwise my kids pick them out. OMIT the seasoned salt, the soy makes it salty enough. One bay leaf and 1 tbsp. of Italian seasoning is plenty. I had a 16 oz. box of fusilli on hand, but use any short pasta (De Cecco is my fave brand). Add a little water if needed. I too like this with green peppers, but it's good without too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I don't know anything about Hungarian goulash, but this goulash is delicious! I didn't use bay leaves (because I didn't have any), but followed the rest of the recipe. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I replaced soy sauce with Worcestershire sauce and added 1/4 diced green pepper. I used Diced tomatoes with garlic & onion for extra garlic flavor. Also used freshly ground Italian herb seasoning. Very good. Does make a lot. Can freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
A little too salty. Will omit seasoning salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I'm sorry but I made this exactly according to the directions (only substituting Worcestershire sauce for soy and adding green pepper, as EVERYONE seemed to suggest) and I really didn't like it. Wayyyy too much Italian seasoning! And that combined with the bay leaves made it very one note, not enough complexity. My other major issue was not including any sugar to balance the acidity of all the tomato product. I ended up adding a bunch of other seasonings at the end to made it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made this as written and just thought it was OK. I can appreciate how easy it is and the list of ingredients I always have on hand though. I'll happily eat it, but not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Way too much Italian seasoning and bay leafs. It wasn't bad if you ate it right away, but later in the day and the second day, a few bites was all I could stand even after adding another round of tomato sauce. We don't like it soupy so I used a whole box of elbows, which made it a hearty texture like we like, but 25 minutes was way too long to cook the dry mac. The noodles ended up mushy and fell apart especially by the second day. Hubs didn't like it either. We tried to eat it for a couple of days, but could never finish a whole bowl and ended up throwing most of it away. If I ever make it again I will cut way back on the seasonings and cook the noodles only 10-12 minutes like the box says. I might skip the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
just like mom used to make! I cooked the pasta separately and added it at the end and it wasn't watery at all like another reviewer noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is bobby flays recipe to the tee; it should be delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di19681

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States