Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was my first recipe from this web site, it was delicious! I had my sons girlfriend try it, first she said it looks like my grandmas then she had some and said it was very good, will be making it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria E Robert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I have been making the same goulash (Mom's recipe) for 30 years but wanted to try some alterations for a change. I made this recipe using 2 TBSP soy sauce rather than three and adding celery and green pepper. Soy sauce ruined the dish (thank God I didn't add one more TBSP) and the Italian seasoning did not help this dish at all. The wonderful full tomato flavor I get with my recipe was totally masked by the SALTY soy sauce and the Italian seasoning. My husband even said it was pretty bad. On a positive note, I liked the ratio of meat to noodles. I like goulash with plenty of juice/sauce and meaty, which this was. Adding the noodles into the sauce to cook worked well, however 25 minutes cooking time is way too long if you like them al dente. They were way overcooked after 20" and then they sit in the hot pot cooking even longer. I would give them about the usual 5 - 10" simmer time - that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I just made this recipe and the macaroni was mushy yet not cooked all the way through in some places and it tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Followed the recipe but did add green peppers. I had planned on taking a picture but it was so good the family finished it before I had a chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Absolutely delicious. Made it exactly like the recipe except I used whole grain pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe. We halved it b/c it is just the three of us in the family but it turned out great and for an economical recipe it was yummy and filling. You can change this up with whatever you want to add depending on where in the US you grew up - add corn, add bell pepper, etc. One of my son's favorites during winter time. Served with a side salad and homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I thought it was a little to soupy. I think it would have turned out better without the three cups of water and the noodles cooked separately. I have never had classic american goulash so my judgement might be off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I don't want to get into the international fight for the right to claim goulash as theirs... but, this is some mighty fine goulash. I have fun memories eating goulash with my family at the dinner table back in the 60's. But, I never learned how to make. Thanks mom for serving it and... Thank you for sharing Pathunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Followed exactly as directed and it was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very easy and flexible. Used crushed tomatoes instead of diced and added some zucchini. Very good - and delicious way to give the family more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States