Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
We enjoyed this! My husband said he liked it even better the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
People need to understand that things like a clove of garlic, or a bay leaf vary in sizes naturally. Therefore when a recipe calls for such, one should era on the side of caution. You can add more later. You can taste the dish and adjust other flavorings to. When someone says a recipe is bland, it's your own fault, not the recipe's. Since everyone's taste is different, taste and adjust to your own. I halved the recipe and like others used Worcestershire instead of soy. I always have chopped bell peppers in the freezer so I threw in a handful of green bell pepper with the onions. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used tomato paste and a cup of water. I didn't add additional water because I wanted a thick sauce. I ended up adding a tad near the end. I only put one bay leaf in since I halved the recipe and that was enough. It turned out great. Not my mom's but just as good. Don't tell her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I have been eating this since I was a child, and Mom usually called it chop suey. She was from New England. I also hear it called goulash and hamburger soup. I generally use a lower fat content ground beef, and don't drain it, as the fat adds flavor, and I don't lose the other liquids created while browning the meat. I have also used ground turkey, but the flavor is not the same, even when adding beef soup base. When I want more than just the basic soup. I also will add bell peppers, preferably the red and yellow ones, as some in my family find green ones have too strong a flavor. I will also add mushrooms and/or a can of small black olives. I will serve this with a loaf of Italian bread, and I like it with shredded parmesan cheese. I generally will make a big pot and eat it for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I added 1 chopped green pepper and used 1 lb of mild Italian sausage and 1 lb of ground buffalo. Added 3 diced Yukon Gold potatoes. It turned out very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I added green pepper at the onion stage and instead of 3 cups of water I added 3 cups beef broth. Very satisfying on a chilly rainy/snowy day! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Added more Worcestershire sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Made this recipe for the first time, put 1 less cup of water, used all organic ingredients. I have celiac disease so I substituted gluten free penne. I served it with a little bit of cheese and a splash of red hot! Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe as listed for the most part. I used 2 cups of rotini noodles instead of macaroni also after it was done I add more season salt and some garlic powder. The goulash had a good flavor but was a little bland for my liking. I rated this a 3 because my personal preference I don't think I'm a fan of goulash. But if goulash is what you want then this is a good recipe to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
LOVED IT!! I live in MN and this is the classic Midwestern version of goulash that I grew up with. I made a few modifications based on other reviews - added a chopped green pepper and used Worcestershire instead of soy sauce. It was easy to make and very very good! I will definitely be keeping this in my fall/winter meal rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States