Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Couldn't be easier. Didn't use any bay leaves, but it still turned out yummy. I added green pepper. Leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABH83186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Doubled recipe (always do), made the noodles separate (so eliminated water) because I didn't want the noodles to soak up all the tomatoes. Quadrupled spices and added way more of my "own Italian spice mixture" (just because we LOVE spice and fresh garlic), but for some reason there still WAS NOT enough spice!!! Also added fresh largely chopped red, yellow, orange and green pepper with the onions as beef was cooking AND more sauce, crushed tomatoes and stewed tomatoes since more veggies were added (we like our food wet not dry). Added fresh sliced mushrooms shortly before dish was done (so they didn't get overcooked). Had to add Parmesean cheese to each serving for more flavor!! This made a lot and was just OK in my book. My family ate it (we DON'T WASTE FOOD!) but they were not THRILLED! I still cannot figure out why it tasted SO blan (even after I added so much spice!) I let it simmer without the noodles for a few hours to incorporate the flavor as well (and it still was blan the next day). Don't think I would make this again unless I added something else for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I added more liquid to the recipe and it was perfect! My family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Perfect. The only thing I do is add a can of corn. That is how I had it growing up. This is in our regular rotation and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catypillrgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe several times since I first saw it. I believe my mom made something similar (I'm 71 yo so it's hard to remember!). Since I was making it for only two of us, I used the same ingredients except I used only 1 lb. of ground beef and and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. I added chopped green pepper, and used worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. It made a lot so I froze some for future eating. My husband really liked it and I liked it as well. Very easy dish to make. Good on the budget too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made this exactly as recipe follows. Too much italian seasoning for my taste. The goulash my mom makes is very tomatoey which is how I prefer it. Next time I would season it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Read no further... I spent a crazy amount of time reading many many many comments on this recipe and made alterations based on comments.... Alterations: I tried this in the crockpot on low for about 3 hrs After browning the meat w/ onions, etc.. I used a jar of spaghetti sauce in place of tomato sauce Instead of all the soy sauce I did 2TBS SOY & 2TBS Worcestershire sauce Added LOTS of basil and a little less Italian seasonings Beef broth instead of water About a cup of shredded zucchini I had in the freezer (just for fun, not because of suggestions or anything) I recommend cooking noodles separately and adding them at the end. They got mushy in the crockpot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this tonight and it was delicious, I added green pepper but wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melicans
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is the best goulash recipe I have ever made! This reminds me of the goulash my mother used to make when I was a kid. I stuck to the recipe, but did add 1 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 707) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States