Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This was pretty good but next time I'll try the crock pot method and also reduce the pasta to 1 cup and 1 can of diced tomatoes.I cooked the pasta separately but I think in the crock the flavors may come together more.I only need 4 servings hence reduced pasta and tomatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This is a classic, straightforward dish. I made it exactly as is, and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORISPAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnebago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I would've given it 5 stars, but I made it exactly as written & I knew as I was dumping that 2nd Tbsp. of Italian seasoning that I shouldn't have done it. Way way way too much Italian seasoning! In fact I don't think it needs any, maybe other seasonings as some other reviewers suggested. Aside from that it was fine, maybe a little heavy on the hamburger. I'll make it again, next time without the Italian seasoning, and maybe 1/2 lb. less burger or another half cup or so of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
My family loves goulash. There's a hundred ways of making it. I add in mushrooms, and sometimes add okra and corn. This is a basic recipe, that is very tasty, so go ahead and make it your own! Whatever you have on hand will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Mckenzie Seiber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: West End, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I substituted reconstituted TVP for the hamburger and sautéed the onions in a little olive oil until they were translucent. I then added the garlic and TVP. From there I followed the recipe. Very nice meatless goulash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was super fast and flavorful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Made this tonight and it was good. Our main complaint was that it was a bit bland. I do plan to make this dish again, however I will be seasoning the meat more. I did cook the pasta and then added it for the last 25 mins. (I did this because of several reviews that suggested it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
My changes: Substituted soy sauce with Worcestershire Sauce. Substituted water with beef broth. Cooked pasta in a separate pot and added it to the sauce when done (I know from experience that when you cook the pasta in with the sauce, it tends to become mushy. I'm an "al-dente" kinda woman) This dish was fantastic. SO asked, "Why don't you make this every week?" Heck, I'm not sure why. It's an economical, filling meal. If tweaked properly (with low-sodium sauces, lean meat and whole-wheat pasta), this meal could be considered healthful. Maybe I WILL make it every week! Funny thing is, my mother made this several times a year when I was growing up (we simply called it "goulash" in Upstate NY) and I hated it. Funny how our taste buds mature with our bodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I have made this for my husband twice and he loves it. I have halved the recipe and did not use the bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Houle-Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was very good... Everyone in my family enjoyed it. Next time I am going to make it with half ground sausage and half ground beef. Thanks for an "easy to make on a busy day" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 740) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States